The pen is mightier than the sword- Bonus Post

plan-campagne-audeFurther to my last post, here are some links to older posts referring to our village, Campagne-sur-Aude’s history as a Preceptory of the Knights Templar . The village has the only completely enclosed central fort of this type in Europe. Sources suggest that the earliest documented reference to the village was in 814 AD, though we have traces of Roman and Visigoth settlement there.

 

 

This is the best link, if you can get the English language version  up, or you have excellent French. I don’t normally recommend Google Translate but it’s an option

http://www.templiers.org/campagne-sur-aude.php

 

My older posts

 

Stone Love – A little village in the South of France

Episode 87- French street names in a little village in the Languedoc

Episode 84- What changes can be made to an old building?

French Doors – a few more from a little village in the Languedoc

Episode 3: Dream Villa with Pool

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The pen is mightier than the sword- Bonus Post

  1. Osyth says:

    So now I know EXACTLY where you are and can fully understand your delight in the area. The drive from Carcassone up into Ariege when I was married to a previous spouse was always a highlight. The presence of the Knights Templar is a fascination now being studied for an MA thesis by my stepson. BTW I hope you noticed that I linked my piece about our renovation in Cantal to your site – if it brings a few more interested people to your story, so much the better because you have been an inspiration to me, it must be said 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.