The pen is mightier than the sword- and considerably easier to write with

Thus said Marty Feldman, and he was right.

When I write my little story on Campagne sur Aude, our French village of choice, I will be doing so as an incomer, but with the most honourable of intentions.

I have found no evidence to date that anyone else has done this and someone really should. I am in the fortunate position of being able to do my own illustrations too! I would love to write it longhand, with a quill  made from a fallen feather dropped by a griffin vulture; but my writing is illegible, even to me .

Campagne sur Audeplan-campagne-aude

 

 

The photo above is my own, showing the 12 sided shape of the fort at the centre of the village from the north east, flip it to study this plan-right- from  http://www.templiers.org/campagne-sur-aude.php

The main entrance on the south wall is shown on my photo –below- and right is the view from inside.

Note the sword sharpening marks to the left!

20140728_111622campagne sur aude templar fort entrance

campagne sur aude templar fort entrance

Then we noticed similar sword marks on the walls of our little courtyard. Were the Knights twelve feet tall? or does this just prove my theory that there was a substantial  roof on the arched passage (leading from what is now part of front cave doorway ) to the back of our house and someone stood cave doorthere to sharpen something?

call me Sherlock……………..DSC01715

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The pen is mightier than the sword- and considerably easier to write with

  1. I reckon the Knights were 12 feet tall. No way was there a roof they could stand on… 😉

    Like

  2. bizzyella says:

    Hmm. At your house, maybe there was an accident at the stone yard? Maybe they created a little space to facilitate opening the door? Anyway, ooh, a Templar fortification. Of course we want all the details.

    Like

    • Don’t think whoever built our house bothered with any stoneyard. They just picked up what was lying around and added that to the ruins/cowsheds/primitive hovels on site. when they ran out of stone, they used monster pebbles from the river.
      Kind of an ongoing work in progress for about seven hundred years, which is still a work in progress now. This is why the spirit of the place is diffuse rather than distinct I think.
      However will it cope when we finish?

      Like

  3. Osyth says:

    What a fabulous village … love the image of writing with a feather fallen from a passing Griffen Vulture but failing that and given your handwriting is clearly as legible as mine! Beingn an incomer is often the best way to be … you are there of choice. You love the place and have probably looked at many others. I love the door too, incidentally. And I shall pop down sometime to sample your Aude delights! I love your blog. Hence the pingback earlier … keep it coming 🙂

    Like

  4. poshbirdy says:

    Can’t wait to take a look around your lovely village, Gill. Love the door too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

