The Thursday Three- two new & one old

1920's silk thread embroidery on linen

1920’s silk thread embroidery on linen

Loyal readers will recognise this circular 1920’s silk thread embroidery on natural linen that I posted a while back. You may also know that I was looking for a second one to create a semi-symmetrical display in terrace bedroom.

Well I found one on ebay eventually, same embroidery transfer design but slightly different frame & executed in chain rather than satin stitch. Still perfect for what I want.

 

Even before I found gorgeous picture #2 I was hunting for a larger but still circular chinoiserie style 20’s/30’s transfer printed mirror to mount between these over the bed.

After five years I have admitted defeat, then this week I found a contemporary version, see below top left,

Though it doesn’t look like  a mirror in that photo

http://www.debenhams.com/home/butterfly-home-by-matthew-williamson/cushions-throws-rugs

chinoiserie304052402805

 

 

 

Unfortunately- see also above link, I also found this irresistable silk cushion substantially reduced in the store. I was not quite sure, the bright pink nylon bobbles put me off. I walked around Debenhams for about half an hour clutching said cushion and arguing with myself (Do I need it? do I want it ? will it look right with the vintage textiles such as the 20’s pyjama case ?)

As you know I love my passementerie but not the synthetic stuff. Sorry Matthew Williamson! They had to go to suit the as-yet-unmade window seat in the terrace bedroom at My French House

So what did you do this afternoon Gill? Well, I sat snipping synthetic bobbles off a brand new cushion

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Thursday Three- two new & one old

  1. Lynda says:

    Ohmygoodness! I thought I was the only one who did that. I often walk about the store holding something that I think I just must have, then when I have finished my shopping I get honest with myself and decide. 98% of the time I am happy to put it back, but at least it was mine for a little while. 😀

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    They say patience is a virtue … you proved it here and NAILED the result … glad the bobbles were evacuated but that hardly needs saying!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I have certainly had to be patient with this project! Looking forward to reading more on your maison secondaire.
      Looks very characterful and should let v easily!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Looks can be deceptive … there is far more than meets the eye to this project … glad you are enjoying the ride! And yours is truly coming together. I’m looking forward to reading the whole story (and commenting of course) in a couple of weeks when I have a leeeeetle time 🙂

        Like

      • There often is more than meets the eye, if that were not the case, these adventures that we undertake would be so much less “interesting”,

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

