The Thursday Three – French treasures- on Monday?

As my Thursdays are usually crazy, I am posting three today- One of my new range of textiles made with vintage and recycled fabrics and trimmings Left

I have started on some of these table runners which I can make in any length or width on request. The trims and fabrics will vary , of course, depending on what I find at the markets and vide-grenieres here in France.

I love the French name for these “chemin de table“!

This old hand stamped trim and the vintage  cotton lace is sewn onto a new runner so a practical item too.

This beautiful padded and monogrammed piece Right came from yesterday’s VG at Esperaza. The stallholder told me it was made for a piano in  a grand house (maybe one of those duet stools?)

It’s gorgeous. he referred to it as a chatelaine piece, which I liked

 

 

 

 

 

As it is in excellent condition for it’s age, I would like to non-invasively hand sew a backing on it and use as a cushion cover. The width is perfect.

I have been looking for an old pair of hand painted bellows for a very long time. All  the good ones are expensive so, as usual, it’s back to doing it myself.

I found these in a dirty and dessicated state at Couiza VG for the princely price of a whole euro.

Cleaned, hand painted with authentic motifs (including the open flower, one of my favourite symbols) then waxed and polished I am now in love with them.

Trev’s eyebrows suggest slight approval also……………..

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Thursday Three – French treasures- on Monday?

  1. gabriele says:

    Really like the chemins de table, what a wonderful way to ‘dress’ a table, particularly one that is already special. Should you not find enough lace at the VG, there’s a seller on ebay, authenticlace
    The woman who sells various lengths of Cluny (real Cluny) lace is part of the family that has been making this particular kind of lace on the old machines for over 200 years.
    I don’t buy much because the cost of shipping is often more than the item price (auction). Service has been friendly and excellent. I dye natural fibers (procion dyes) so this cotton lace is wonderful.
    So good to see your Adventures in Shopping (VG edition) have been so productive!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. Yes, the ebay postage often renders an item unviable for me also! Still plenty of beautiful and affordable stuff in my area here and I love to repurpose it and pass it on, along with fabric and trimmings from my own collection.
      I never could resist a lovely textile as followers may have noted

      Like

  2. Osyth says:

    Beautiful pieces and your chemins de table will surely be popular with buyers. I too would have fought over the chatelaine piece but I concede that you will give it a wonderful new lease so I shan’t pout. The bellows are adorable. Somewhere amongst all my stored stuff I think I still have mine but they are somewhat shabbier than chic these days … a restoration for the future, perhaps 🙂

    Like

  3. poshbirdy says:

    Ooh, love that monogrammed piece. What wonderful colours

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knew you’d love it. WE would definitely have fought over possession of this gem!!
      The Bride got in first on same stall with a wooden hand print roller converted into lamp base we might have all fallen out over

      Like

  4. francetaste says:

    You are giving these things a wonderful new lease on life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

