21st century schizoid plans

I had a brilliant trip to Toulouse on Thursday with bride-to-be Bev#1  (who loves fabric and old stuff as much as I do)  and Welsh Bev#2 ( who comes from the same South Welsh valleys as my Mother’s family). There are photos of this event which I may yet post.

Down an alley way (with the above treasure of a balcony on one side) one finds the fabulous fabric and sewing stuff chain “Toto”which is a veritable treasure trove of needful things. I bought some embroidered  cream cotton for curtains and ribbon for some cushion covers I am making which will be at least 50% antique,  vintage or recycled fabrics ( mainly French) and hopefully on etsy by tomorrow evening.

They might have been finished today , but I randomly ended up doing the following:-

  • Making up some Magic Mix to attach a scallop shell moulding
  • Writing the last chapter of my debut book aimed at 9-14 year olds and set here in Occitanie, much of which was once known as Septimanie https://www.britannica.com/place/Septimania
  • Sewing a door curtain for the terrace bedroom from natural cotton/linen canvas and grape crushed taffeta. Yes it’s one of  my refined rustic juxtapositions. If you beg I will take photos……….. but for now here are the unfinished cushion covers
About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 21st century schizoid plans

  1. gabriele says:

    The cushion cover on the right has the capacity to change someone’s life. Someone is going to buy it because they need it. It’s beautiful of course but the way all the pieces/parts work together. Bet you had a big sigh of satisfaction when you finished that one! So well done is so many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris says:

    you are amazing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Osyth says:

    I am quite breathless at what you are achieving …. stocking your Etsy shop with delights, finishing your first book, working on the house and I happen to know still delving into the day job. You are quite a woman and I am glad you survived Toulouse!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. francetaste says:

    In Toulouse, I used to park at Esquirol, but since they changed the one-way streets, I find it easier to park at the parking Carnot, a few blocks from the center.
    I found a HUGE fabric store in the center, but I don’t remember the name. Sorry!
    OTOH, if you go to Béziers, check out Mondial des Tissus, in a zoning on the edge of town. I found lots of stuff at around €1 per meter en soldes. Huge place. Go early. In the afternoon, it got crowded. We arrived during lunch and found the staff very attentive but after 14h30 or so, it was too busy to pay attention to anybody.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bev says:

    Oh dear, I fear the Ikea photo may be featured 🙂
    Toto is such a great shop, well worth the hair raising drive into the centre of Toulouse!!!!
    Cushions looking great 🙂
    Bev #1 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

