Argeles-sur-Mer late spring cleaning #1

One of the many benefits of living here at the French house is that we can actually spend time at, or even have a holiday at the Argeles apartment!

Many others have benefited, including family and friends, just NOT US.This will now change I assure you.

Though only 90mins from the village house, it’s vibe is totally different  and we love it for what it is; a seaside town that  has existed as a tourist spot only since the 1950s-60s when the beach area was developed.

Often overlooked in favour of it’s more famous and decorative neighbours Collioure (pretty, but you can’t park in summer and beach is vestigial) and Banyuls  (ditto, but slightly more spread out) Argeles has a spectacular 7km beach and a similar length promenade under umbrella pines. 

Trev, water boy, went off for a swim of course. An hour in the sea is one of his greatest pleasures and the main driver for buying here; I have long got used to his initially disturbing habit of swimming out a mile or more, which used to freak me out big time.

I did a change over (by choice) and decided to do a real deep clean – paintwork, windows, walls, tops of doors,  wash anything that isn’t nailed down. We had to buy new chairs for the balcony so in the spirit of neighbourliness I put the old ones by the bins. They disappeared very quickly. The new cushions went in. People do odd things to cushions as I have noted in previous posts…..

We are happy here too, in a different way. Even my little car is happy to be in France and you can’t see Madame B’s dent in above photo. When we came out of the Accountant’s office last week it was 48 degrees and the satnav announced that it was too hot to work, but my car copes just fine and has never overheated, even with ridiculous temperatures we have had for last few weeks.

Shots from balcony (great sunset)  left & right

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Argeles-sur-Mer late spring cleaning #1

  1. francetaste says:

    Have you been to the Château de Valmy? I just heard about it yesterday. Sounds wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    Luverly! You have achieved a perfect balance with your two places and may I say a perfect paint job on those tootsies! 💅

    Liked by 2 people

    • Osyth they are in such a state, honestly, have dropped so much rubble, wood and stone on them in last month. I am morphing back into quite the boho tramp here.
      Always was my default setting

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        You haven’t seen my feet … honestly those look positively glamorous. I’m sure the French are secretly disgusted with me but of course they are collectively far too polite to show it 😅

        Like

      • No m’dear , I am thoroughly unkempt now; if some of my clients could see me they would be appalled at the slip in standards

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        It’s OK, I won’t tell … I have had to up my standards from the default in Cantal as you might imagine. I was even seen in heels when my cousin and his wife were staying 😮

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynda says:

    I would love to be at the beach right now. It’s funny what you miss when you live too far away to do anything about it… the breeze, the ocean’s smell, warm sand between your toes. I have never been a sunbather I just like the environment. Argeles sounds like it would have plenty to keep me occupied and happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ellen A. says:

    Very nice, indeed! Glad to know about Argeles.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. gabriele says:

    I don’t know if you know this website but I like it and trust it (verified lots of details from it). And it does give a great review for your beach in addition to lots of useful info.
    http://www.creme-de-languedoc.com/Languedoc/beaches/
    Love the pillow collection and arrangement. Bet the colours make the room feel a couple degrees cooler when it’s hot and like a fresh breeze at other times.
    I wonder if the poor treatment some pillows receive is not lack of respect but misplaced envy. They’d like to take them home, but since they can’t….
    I imagine it does make you wonder what their own places look like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Frequently. One year someone pulled all the tassles off. Argeles is underrated, the opportunity for walking, hiking, fishing and biking as well as usual beach stuff is amazing.
      We will be promoting it now we are here!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

