Je suis obsédé par tissu, fils à coudre et passementerie

I cannot imagine that you haven’t noticed this fact.

This is why I need my Giant Vintage Woolwork Sewing  Box/Footstool. See my post-

Selfie with footstool

I decided to edit through this old sewing basket, formerly my mother’s. Not her nice old one brought into her marriage in 1948 (who knows where that one is?! I could speculate….) This one is from the mid 80’s.

 

I decided just to put the buttons, beads, pins, needles and other “notions” back into this one.

I thought that I had sorted through this basket when I acquired it in 1990. It was heading for the tip when I intercepted it,  as my Father could not bear to keep any of my Mother’s personal bits after her death. The contents of a life were thrown away or spread off to various family members. I won’t follow up on the rest of this story now.

Anyway, I clearly had not looked through it properly before, or I’m even crazier than I thought, because at the bottom of it was something that has solved a 27 year old family mystery…

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Je suis obsédé par tissu, fils à coudre et passementerie

  1. MELewis says:

    That’s quite the cliffhanger – although I do see a French connection. Coincidence? By the sounds of it we went through a similar loss around the same time.

    Like

  2. Ellen A. says:

    But we would love to know, as all stories that take 23 years to resolve are fascinating!

    Like

  3. Osyth says:

    In you own time. Though I DO insist. Meanwhile … joie de vivre is the most wonderful name for a brand of accessory or anything else for that matter!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. francetaste says:

    You’re going to leave us hanging?!?!?!?!
    What mystery???? 23 years????

    Like

Leave a Reply

