The Thursday Three – and some thoughts on storage.

I don’t think you have seen these?

The bug lamp, the Art Nouveau copper dustpan, this little painting?

Actually you might be able to help me, I have been looking for a copper handled brush to match the pan, does anyone out there have one going spare? 

So, today we have mostly been thinking about storage; it’s critical .

Romantic ideas about dainty furniture and stylish but un-capacious armoires are being tempered by the reality of storing the trappings of modern life in a French village house where the only historical requirement was a spot to put your cooking pot, sackcloth and ashes!

Before the rest of our effects arrive, we are studying the furniture/cupboard needs in each room in turn.

The cave guest bedroom will get the glamorous hand made armoire, a small dresser and bedside tables. That will be it. The adjoining bathroom will get a floor to ceiling cupboard. The workshop will hold tools and paints etc. We will have a chest freezer dowstair so we won’t need  a freezer the size of Mt Canigou in the kitchen.

The cloaks cupboard will hold all outdoor stuff and footwear. The salon is to sit in, so other than bookshelves , storage in there will be minimal. Kitchen and dining room storage is being built or adapted already.

Trev will build capacious wardrobes in the tulip room and a window seat, cupboard and more bookshelves in the terrace bedroom. There will be some kind of neat under-bed storage. The shower room on second floor already has a big inset cupboard.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Thursday Three – and some thoughts on storage.

  1. bizzyella says:

    You have an in-house carpenter! I am so jealous!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    I spend so much of my time sweating about storage (and we are no-where near at that point in the project) because putting away the detritus of 21st Century life is my absolute number one priority in any house and particularly in one which will hopefully enjoy new life as something a tenth as elegant as your finished result. Love the lamp, the picture is a sweetly and the dustpan is divine. Can’t help with a brush, I’m afraid but I’m sure someone will turn up trumps for you. Are you breathing calmly yet?

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have been shockingly calm since we got here, despite the fact I have had no internet for two days and place is in chaos!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Perhaps it is because you are finally home …. yes, I think that is it exactly!

        Like

      • The line between acceptable and unacceptable chaos is interesting isn’t it? I’ve spent most of the last 6 weeks in the latter.

        Like

      • I’m not sure we are at acceptable anymore. I’ve shifted a gear and the cookerless kitchen and the leaky shower are bugging me now

        Like

      • Funny story about cookerless kitchens. Our (my parents’) next door neighbors put an addition onto their house before they moved in. The new kitchen is entirely in the addition because it was cheaper that way than cutting the stone walls. But… they took out the old kitchen first. That means they had a 1-burner portable electric cooktop from K-Mart on the sideboard in the dining room for like 2 months.

        Like

    • I am adamant that storage is critical for living comfortably in any place, but balancing capacity and aesthetics is tough. Never too soon to tink about it, even if you are at early stages. Trust me I know!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        I’ll let you settle in before I start bombarding you but believe me I need all the advice I can get. I’m normally pretty savvy about aesthetics and practicality but this project is wearing me down …. maybe the house is just being a teeny bit resistant and I need to speak to it in a different tone?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bombard away. As I have said on the blog NO house before has given me the grief I have had with designing and restoring this place. And its only 125 sq metres!
        Stubborn it is, and only very recently has it given up and given in!!
        Honestly, your conundrums will be a pleasant distraction x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Mine’s even smaller…. barely 100 and pretty much dead square but not is it resisting attempts to rescue. I take heart from your take but have a real concern that I may never see the end result ….

        Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t lose heart. I nearly did. Email me off blog if you need a pep talkxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        I will. Developments and decisions and all that. I have daughter number 3 staying til Sunday so probably early next week xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. francetaste says:

    That lamp is great! Butterflies and a lion, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

