No! No! and Thrice No!!!

It started with my car. I have a ten year old Smart Forfour  and I am very attached to it. It has taken me all over the UK in comfort and economy and squeezes into small parking spaces.

It is also taking us to France at the weekend to be our temporary second car.

It is a bit quirky looking, my ex boss used to refer to it disparagingly as The Tonka Toy.  So it has a lid rather than a bonnet (hood) and it’s got teeny weeny toytown clocks on the dashboard and Trev likes it about as  much as he likes toothache.

I Don’t Care.

So I treated it to a  full valet and polish and it was all spanking and shiny  (bet I get some dodgy hits on that sentence) and it was parked innocently in our Dentist’s car park ( Pre emigrating check)  when some woman reversed into it and drove off. No witnesses. My first dent in a decade !!!

Can I get it fixed before The Big Move? NO!!

Karma will get you, you  Bad Irresponsible Tearaway Car-rammer  H…(best stop now)

Then, unloading the zillionth box to charity shop I dropped my favourite reading glasses in the parking space and didn’t notice till I got home.

Jumped back in car and howled back over to shop just as an Uber taxi reversed comprehensively over them.

These are my LUCKY glasses!

“could have been worse” quoth Trev “you could have been wearing them at the time HAHA!”

Can I get them replaced before The Big Move? NO!

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to No! No! and Thrice No!!!

  1. Oooh angst! People are terrible for scratching cars and buggering off!!! I was very cross about the big scratch – that didn’t actually happen to my car in the end thankfully! Trev’s comment about your glasses was very LOL but I feel your pain. As a non wearer of spectacles – my equivalent would be if my Orla kiely handbag got runned over!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Piddlewick says:

    I have always wanted a Smart car! Anything that makes me smile is good in my book (though my hubby feels the same as yours.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynda says:

    I honestly didn’t have the heart to click the like button. I’m sorry for your misfortune but as Trev pointed out, you could have been wearing those glasses.
    And my favorite line from Shakespeare in Love (it was used often in the film):
    “Strangely enough it all turns out well”
    How?
    “I don’t know; it’s a mystery”
    It will turn out well for you too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. poshbirdy says:

    Oh dear! These are just bumps on the road, though. Soon you will have left the rat race behind x

    Like

  5. MELewis says:

    Ma pauvre…. you will get there, bumps and all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Osyth says:

    I hope you will give your car a new French name when you matriculate her to being French. Which you must. She can’t possibly be discarded after all her adventures. KEEP slurping the wine, keep moving forwards (you are, you are, you are) and keep ranting. Ranting is medicinal. As is wine. Dr Osyth over and out. 🚗

    Liked by 1 person

    • She is already has French blue livery which is one of the reasons for purchase. Currently called Spogolg which is less than original

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        I dream of a French blue car … a 2CV, of course. My car is called Franck (all cars in our family are boys and I have no idea why) but was originally Franco as he is a SEAT (Spanish). I think this should be your task as you burn up the miles crossing the vastness of France. I look forward to hearing the results of the jury when you reach a decision!

        Like

  7. francetaste says:

    How awful!
    How do you know it was a woman who ran into it?
    Let’s hope this is the end of bad surprises. It seems like quite enough!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nadia says:

    Do not worry about it. These things happen all the time, for you, it is just a bad time. Be happy and have a glass of wine and “vive la France”.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bizzyella says:

    Yes, you’re moving, all right. All this and more happened to me when I moved. It took me about two years to find out that I had not, in fact, left behind my late husband’s ashes. Now I have to figure out what to do with them. Anyway, every time something happened I would think “out with the old life, in with the new.” Who knows whether there is any truth to that but it did make it easier to deal with the chaos. Welcome to France. Bwahahahaha……

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

