The Thursday Three- and why do I have a teaspoon in my pocket?

So I put my hand in the pocket of my dressing gown and there’s a teaspoon in there. Why? I haven’t a clue. I know I’m extremely distracted right now and any hope of preserving the normal is out of the window ; but a TEASPOON??

Suggestions on a postcard please…..

It wasn’t one of the many implements, tools and potions I have employed trying to clean off what seemed to be hardened  nicotine from this hand mirror. In the end the answer was a strong paste of washing detergent.

I wish that was the answer to all my current conundrums.

Anyway, on the basis that I am taking bags of superfluous stuff to the charity shop and thus selflessly helping others, I allowed myself a little trawling.

It was well worth it. A pair of long, lined natural linen curtains with subtle embroidery in my favourite colours. And a heap of White Company bed linen with ladderwork and fagotting. The look of the antique with machine washability.

What is it I love about linen? apart from it’s natural texture, breath(e)ability and strok(e)ability. I’d like to see Google translate coping with those two words….

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Thursday Three- and why do I have a teaspoon in my pocket?

  1. gabriele says:

    Oh I love the recent finds and yes, linen whenever possible. About the spoon-is it possibly involved with a cup of tea that didn’t happen?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynda says:

    These are wonderful, but especially that thistle embroidered piece! Is it for sale or are you keeping it? If for sale, then I want it, please.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. francetaste says:

    What do you mean about machine washing antique linen sheets? I have done it and it’s fine! If they’re hung outside to dry, they are almost wrinkle-free.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I have antique/vintage linen and I wash it successfully (as per previous posts, I wash almost everything!) . But some of the old stuff, particularly cotton pieces with cutwork etc, has worn areas and is less robust. And I’m not a “stick everything in at 40 degrees” girl.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. poshbirdy says:

    At least it wasn’t a knife! That bedding is FAB. That was from a charity shop?

    Like

  5. MELewis says:

    Ladderwork, okay. But faggoting? Literally no clue, but love the linen!

    Like

    • The border stuff you can see on these pieces is, strictly speaking, fagotting; which generally has more substantial borders on the main fabric edge than what is generally called ladderwork

      Like

Leave a Reply

