Predilections Prédilections – more faux amis?

link here-false friends

Well this is interesting. Type in “predilection” and Google’s first definition thrown up is below in italics:-

Is it me or do the examples quoted smack of VERY personal preferences!?

“”predilection
ˌpriːdɪˈlɛkʃ(ə)n/
noun
plural noun: predilections
  1.  preference or special liking for something; a bias in favour of something.
    “your predilection for pretty girls”
    liking, fondness, preference, partiality, taste, penchant, weakness, soft spot, fancy, inclination, leaning, bias, propensity, bent, proclivity, proneness, predisposition, tendency, affinity, appetite, love;

    archaic gusto
    “her predilection for married men””
    …….Hmmm, interesting, the question is, have I found another  “faux ami”? In language terms, a “faux ami” is a word in English that APPEARS to have an almost exact counterpart in another language, but on closer examination it mean something different.
    Ideal for tripping up the unwary. Which could lead to anything from a simple misunderstanding that just makes folk laugh at one’s incompetence with the language to a major “faux pas” that labels  one as mad, bad and/or dangerous to know!
    See how I sprinkle these French words through my text with alacrity? However, even I know that an “ensuite” does not mean a bathroom off your bedroom to a French person.
    Back to predilections. My last post and this photo give you  a tiny taste of mine.
    Google Translate (my last French teacher’s “bête noire“, and possibly that is another faux ami)  says “predilection” in English translates as “prediction” in French which is most assuredly NOT the same meaning. However, my French Larousse (concise dictionnaire compact) says prédilection means predilection. On balance I believe Larousse.
    I have just rejected a favourite contemporary oak and leather armchair from the Big French Edit. My predilections are sharpening to a very fine point.
    Is this age or downsizing or new priorities?
    All three I think.
    I have also been very, very brave and made a potentially difficult telephone call in French to a French person in which it was critically expedient to be absolutely precise. Who knows if I actually achieved that and might I find a new ensuite to the garage, rather than a leak repair when I get back to France ?
     This move is also throwing up that I may have acquired the odd “false friend” along the way, and not in the linguistic sense…..
About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Predilections Prédilections – more faux amis?

  1. Osyth says:

    Many see the shedding as a gruelling punishment. It is hard, that is certain but you are embracing the positive and will reap the reward once installed in France

    Liked by 1 person

  2. francetaste says:

    My French dictionary defines it as a “préférence marquée,” so not a false friend.
    I think an edit like you are doing separates true priorities from habits (I’ve had this since forever) and the things that we have out of guilt (like gifts). So of course it would feel strange, but it’s probably a good thing to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. poshbirdy says:

    Suddenly you are having to edit for one home. I know it all needs to ‘gel’, so you are bound to leave behind some ‘friends’ from before. And well done on your call. Building lingo at distance in French over the phone deserves applause (whatever the outcome!) x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

