In which I find that I cannot prove that I exist

So, those bags under my eyes and the staring, slightly manic and demented look in those eyes might give some hint of my Current Mental State. OK, I’ve cranked the contrast up a little bit, which gives me chipmunk cheeks!

We knew our passports expired in September. One cannot renew until six months before said expiry date.  So we renewed this week as we have a four week slot here in the UK.

I am channelling Restoration Stress Witch, lightly sprinkled with “why are things so complicated?” angst and trying to work, pack, plan and progress this move.

I work from home. Every time I walk past Trevor and see that he is NOT doing something constructive re the move, I demand to know why-

Why are you looking at boats on Youtube when you could be bringing your accounts up to date/ reserarching van hire/emailing the  French Accountant/sorting out the internet/grilling Banque P*******e?? Well??”

I feel like a helicopter parent monitoring a child’s leisure computer time and checking he’s done his homework first.

Some days I achieve progress; some days we seem to go backward. So, back to passports; We sent off our old ones with new photos as above and application earlier this week. Today I try to hire a van so I can take the last of my vintage/ antique pieces that aren’t coming with us, plus Trev’s remaining restored/refinished pieces still here in UK, to Ludlow Antique market on Sunday where I have booked a pitch.

They ask for my driving licence. I open it and notice my photo card licence has expired  AARRGGHH!

So, they ask if I can produce other photo ID , maybe my passport? AARRGGHH!!

Do I have any other Official Photo ID ? NO! APART FROM THE PHOTOS ABOVE SHOWING STARING MADWOMAN WHICH ARE NOT ATTACHED TO ANY OFFICIAL ID… AAARRRGGGHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So, there you are, I cannot prove that I officially exist. I am a figment of my own imagination. A conceptual creature without form or substance or a photo ID.

I may grow to appreciate this, if it means that I don’t have to think about anything for at least 24 hours.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to In which I find that I cannot prove that I exist

  1. Lordy, a bit of rosyposylovely would be FAB!

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    Repeat after me … all shall be well and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well. Maybe not exactly as you perceive but WELL and you will get to where you are going. This I promise you. If I am wrong you can stalk me and hunt me down and kill me which I imagine you are capable of if the photos are anything to go by xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bizzyella says:

    If it’s any help, I brought an entire seavan with me and paid no customs duties. I had an address. Therefore, despite that pesky “mention visiteur” on my residence card, I was a resident. So brazen it out. That’s my advice. And, as a favorite co-worker often said, you can sleep when you’re dead. You look fine, by the way. Worried, but fine.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hope Ellen reads this, she is the one with customs duties issue! We won’t have this problem. Other problems but not this one..

      Like

      • Ellen A. says:

        Yes! Just came back to this post to check out your lovely shop offerings. Will certainly try to avoid the customs duties, but as we will be sending the items after us (can’t bring with), I’m not sure what our shipper will encounter. The duties will probably be negligible on most of the stuff we want to ship, so I won’t worry too much. Thanks to all for the encouragement.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Osyth says:

      100% agreed … I did the same 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. MELewis says:

    Wait till you see the passport photos (photos d’identité) they make you take in France! Ugh. Mug shots would be more flattering. Even your wild-haired madwoman look is preferable to the horrors of my latest ID photos. As for your prompting behaviour with hubs, sounds very much like me on a normal day, i.e. without a move to manage. You’ll get there, probably sooner than later. Bon courage!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. francetaste says:

    Good luck! Our kid’s passport expires next month, and husband’s a bit after, and he sees no reason to hurry about getting the kid’s renewed. It’s his country and he has to deal with it; I deal with mine. But he doesn’t deal with it. A friend of his applied for an ID card, and he decided that was the priority, and the passports must wait until he has his ID in hand. It’s like making a sauce for the dessert without having made the dinner, set the table or made the dessert itself. In the U.S., we call it ass-backwards.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ellen A. says:

    Right there with you, Gill. Shredding papers at the break of dawn and putting in 12 hour days to wrap up work, meantime having to keep our place spotless to show to potential tenants, and sorting and packing for our move to France. Just found out yesterday that we will have to pay customs duty on any worldly goods we ship there, as we will not at first be residents, but “visiteurs.” So now rethinking how much actually comes with us. Ouch.
    Best of luck to you on your move, and congratulations at being selected among the top 100 renovation blogs!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sounds exactly like my life! Best of luck to you also…And I had no idea that I had been selected for any top blog award!!

      Like

    • BTW,
      Don’t fret about taking only a minimum; I have decided that I will take only the really special stuff which will find a perfect home in either the house or the apartment. After all, you will be in the country with the best antique/vintage heritage on the planet! Lots of new old opportunities there!

      Hard thing for me is cutting down sentimental possessions, but I am finding downsizing cathartic and healthy anyway

      Like

    • Osyth says:

      Ellen, read Bizzyella’s comment below and don’t get conned. I did the same (from England) and four years in I haven’t been arrested …

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

