Episode 151 Part 2 – “I name this bath…….”

wp-image-1340999003jpg.jpgI have actually named my long sought after bathtub.

It’s practically a member of the family now. Though maybe I wouldn’t leave a member of the family all alone in a dark garage surrounded by junk. Trevor suspects  (not without grounds) that if I could get it upstairs by myself I might even have hauled it up to our bedroom so I can gaze upon it with awe at least twice a day.

Back to more earthly musings; I have been looking at creating a wet room rather than just a washroom in the cave in France.  The little room built to replace the old toilet area and access from the hall is too small to fit in a large sized  raised shower tray along with toilet and basin, but creating a seamless wet room in there would work .

We need this option, as the existing granite walled shower area in the second floor bathroom is fairly petite in dimensions. Fine for most ladies but Trev and the son-in-law tend to spill out a bit…

“First fix” plumbing and pipework already in; running to the other side of the wall where the bath will sit.  I have been looking at tanking etc- and of course this MUST be new and fully fit for purpose; and this product http://www.wickes.co.uk/Wet-Room-Membrane-5m2/p/207303 from the Wickes chain in the UK is eco-friendly, made from recycled materials and carbon neutral.

eco friendly wet room membraneI have always been happy with anything I’ve bought from Wickes so I’m confident it will do the job.

Oh, and the bath? well she’s female (of course) and is now known as Bathsheba Everdene. What else?

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Episode 151 Part 2 – “I name this bath…….”

  1. Chris says:

    I love the name of the bath, thank you so much for making me smile

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    Far from the Madding Crowd is, of course, one of my favourite novels and the original movie is still watched at least twice a year chez moi. Just make sure no random fusiliers by the name of Troy ever sit in her because that could spark a disastrous end to this love affair! Wet room info very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynda says:

    Bathsheba Tubman… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ellen A. says:

    Haha! You’ve both given me a smile today.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. francetaste says:

    Bathsheba is a good one.
    I would have thought she would be related to the Tubman family.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

