Episode 151- Ma baignoire îlot

baignoire ilot roll top bathIf someone had told me that this was a “Baignoire îlot” in French it would have saved much explanation when I was discussing the slipper bath I wanted for the cave with My French Plumber.

Anyhow, hard to find (and eyewateringly expensive if you do) in the Aude. So the plumber said “buy it in the UK & I’ll get the fittings here”

So I looked at new ones ; and a friend who fits out bathrooms in buy-to-let properties said ” don’t buy a cheap one, they won’t last”  which put “new” out of our budget range.

So I trawled and trawled mainly on ebay, for a high quality used one exactly the right size (1520 mm)  and wide enough for large gentlemen’s shoulders and without exception , they all went for silly money. Till this week, when I found this beauty, bid and bought it for £46.50 and the lovely seller even delivered it for £20….win,win!

When it arrived I was even more excited when I saw the quality and the aesthetically pleasing proportions and shape and it even has the waste  (more money saved) and the fact that it’s cast iron ball and claw feet are ever so slightly rusted in places but still solid . I am fully aware that the last observation would have most folk running away; but not me.

You either get that or you don’t. So it’s now in the overstuffed UK garage awaiting transport to it’s new  spot where it will languish on reclaimed tiles at an arty angle in the cave bedroom.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Episode 151- Ma baignoire îlot

  1. Sartenada says:

    I have never hears about “baignore îlot” or “baignoire sabot”, because in Finland we have Saunas everywhere. Wonderful post. Thank You.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gabriele says:

    Coming late to the discussion and read the post about opening walls and such and apologizing to the house…I think once you show up with this fantastic bath your house will forgive you all and everything.
    Were I a house (an old house) I might have noted what other houses had carried into them and wondered what it was and why I didn’t have anything like that (except for that large metal pan that people filled with water that was placed on the floor and then taken away when they were done with it) and while being a modest and not at all proud French house, I would appreciate my good points and not try to excuse what people had done to my fabric and finishing’s. But to be gifted with such a wonder of grace, beauty, and function! No other house on the block has anything like this and wonder of wonders it doesn’t even speak French! Brought from a foreign country to be placed in a special place where it will stay and people will enjoy it and I wouldn’t want to wait to see what beautiful things would be done with the special space and oh the people that would come to admire me and my new addition! But it’s also going to be a place where the Lady of the house and I will spend time together (without guests arriving!) and she’ll tell me how happy she is and hopes I’m happy too…Was ever a house so blessed with inhabitants who accept a house as it is but always want to share things of beauty with me so my life is richer and richer.
    And Lady Inhabitant, I agree with all the other comments. I think it was meant to be. My mind keeps murmuring to me…’those graceful lines, those graceful lines…’

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chris says:

    Wow, wonderful well done

    Liked by 1 person

  4. francetaste says:

    I just did a quick search and came up with ZERO! (When JP had a similar plaint about a marble fireplace mantel, I found several for him in minutes). So you scored with this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Osyth says:

    Oh I get it. Like REALLY get it … just gorgeous (and of course I’m sick and pale with envy but I’ll get over it because I know it will look absolutely divine in your Cave bathroom). A funny aside … we looked at a house a while ago which declared in it’s details that it had a ‘petit baignoire sabot’ which translates as a ‘small hoof bath’ … quite where the immobilière got that expression from we know not but it was indeed a very pretty slipper bath. We will be searching for one for Marcolès in due course and it will always be known as ‘the hoof bath’.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nadia says:

    Wow! Sounds like a great deal.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ellen A. says:

    Fantastic find!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

