Architectural ironmongery – and four more for Friday

img_20170217_095309Wise words for French house restorers, with a wider message I think.

I am not of any traditional religious persuasion myself but I found this piece of embroidery from a Welsh Chapel; presumably it hails from a period when the translation of biblical texts into the Welsh language was not deemed necessary. I like it anyway.

Back to Architectural Ironmongery. This is my latest ebay recreational obsession.

These rustic gems right- will no doubt find a home on one of our projectsimg_20170216_094723

And I found a source of traditional antique iron hinges and handles which we have utilised on a disintegrating blanket box which we have just rescued. I love these butterfly hinges and may use them on a cupboard at the French house.

From http://stores.ebay.co.uk/SSINTERNATIONALUKLTD

architectural ironmongeryvintage painted blanket box

 

These toile de Jouy curtains are just for you, Bev; more photos on our etsy shop- top right

toile de jouy curtains

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Architectural ironmongery – and four more for Friday

  1. Court case?? Appeal??

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    My mother-in-law was best mates with Conrad Monk who founded Knobs and Knockers and I blame them both for my obsession with architectural ironmongery and my husband is now cursing as we endeavour to rescue every hinge and latch and lock in the place. I love your butterfly hinges and the toile de jouet and to be frank I love this post xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh, name dropper, Knobs and Knockers eh? my idea of shop heaven!!

      I am happy you have some ironmongery to rescue, ours all dated from the 50’s and 60’s apart from the stuff on the cave door, which of course is layered over with lead paint!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        K&K have been the saviours of my doors and sundry things that need to open and shut since 1981 when I met her. I divorced her son and she remained my friend like any good ironmongery should! I hope you are bearing up to the last few weeks of countdown to move. It will be the best decision of your life but I suspect this bit has its bumps. X

        Like

      • We have nothing, packed, sorted or prepped. I’m too busy! waiting for my French Accountant to get back to me about how best to report my business once we are there . Wish she’d hurry up

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Hurry is not a word here. If you need it, I have a wonderful accountant who has recently retired from hubbies institut in Grenoble who I am certain will give you crisp and swift answers. She would not be a keeper just someone to get you through this bit and thence back to Mme Lentement! Bon Courage has never seemed more apt.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I may take you up on that in the short term. Mind is v good but has no sense of urgence!
        I have decided that it is pointless stressing about the move. It will either trot along smoothly or it won’t.
        c’est ca

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Keep it in mind … in my experience the French move exactly at the pace the French want to move at (don’t get me started on the Court case and appeal we had here) which is stop and then frantic – long periods of deafeningly silence and then screams for action. If my lady can alleviate at least that bit of your contingent stress I’m happy to help!

        Like

  3. francetaste says:

    leboncoin is a good source for hinges and handles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

