More recycling musings

church furnitureIf you have followed this blog from way back, you will know that I have changed my mind about how to upcycle this Puginesque pine chapel table left.

It was earmarked as kitchen furniture until I had the eureka idea of taking the ugly veneer doors off the otherwise solid oak 30’s sideboard and utilising that for worktop and storage instead. wp-image-105035696jpg.jpgIt works so well here and it’s just the right, comfortable level, standard worktop height being too low for my tall folk.

Back to the chapel table. Those arches could frame the radiator cabinet in the salon. or I might find a way of using all eight of them on the built in storage cupboards we want in the tulip room. Maybe with aged mirror behind them ? (and Poshbirdy, I found that sheet mirror we talked about in M.Bricolage, BTW) careful, teetering toward twee here…we’ll see

I would like the tulip room cupboards to be in keeping and in character.

We restorers and recyclers know how hard that can be to achieve.

I found these two fireplaces on Pinterest which perfectly illustrate the fact that you CAN put in an authentic looking feature that your house has either lost or has never been blessed with. They are both made up of different elements and a mixture of old  pieces  with a new supporting structure. Apparently the owner of the wooden one on the right is looking out for the perfect pair of plinths to finish the base. The hunt is always fun.

http://myinnerlandscape.tumblr.com/ & anniesloanhome

reclaimed stone fireplaceanniesloanhome

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More recycling musings

  1. gabriele says:

    But if it had been beautiful as it was, it might not have come your way to be renewed and reborn…and appreciated all the more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    The tall thing is an issue I sympathise with … standard units don’t cut it for 6′ birds! I love the unit … functional and elegant and agedly beautiful – rather as I think of myself on a good day with a following wind. The panels could certainly lend themselves to multitudes of uses and I am confident, as I ever am in your hands that the perfect solution that has us all sighing in envy will burst into your creative brain very soon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. francetaste says:

    Can’t wait to see how it turns out.
    And I probably would have missed the floating-in-the-air mantel supports (? can they be supports if they aren’t supporting?). Made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. poshbirdy says:

    That sideboard looks great now, really simple and effective

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. I’m pleased with it. Trev has stripped back the top & I’m going to oil it to protect it.
      The carving’s lovely but the doors were so hideous- aesthetically, it really jarred before

      Like

Leave a Reply

