Bonus Friday post – Instant karma’s gonna get you

old world map on clay tabletYou know I love old maps. I have my 17thc pre “Treaty of the Pyrenees” map from ebay to frame up.

Then, on Wednesday I had to go over to Birmingham (long story) so I decided to take the opportunity to donate some of the bags of stuff in the back of my car to the charity shop near K’s house. Now I only have a boot full of vintage terracotta land drain pipes that I bought for 99p from a farm in UK and which I am going to pile up in the old, unused fireplace aperture at the French house to store red wine.

I left my daughter in the car with engine running, dropped the bags, scanned around and zoomed in on what looked like a big clay tablet with a moulded earthenware glazed edging. I flipped it over (not easy, it weighs a TON!) and saw a portion of an old map had been fixed to the heavy clay tablet and glazed over again. “There’s three more of those at the back ” quoth the lady behind the counter. I dragged all four pieces over to her and said “I’ll take them, my money’s in the car outside; don’t sell them , I’ll be TWO SECONDS!”img_20170203_143129

Local wide-boy antique dealer spots me, assumes if I’m looking at it , it’s worth having ( I’ve had a couple of stand-offs with this geezer in the junk furniture shop around the corner)

We p*****d him off last month  when he was stalking me again and my small grandson  witheringly told him..

My Nana doesn’t want that one anyway, it’s only veneer”) 

Dealer pounces  “I’ve got a tenner here , she won’t come back, I’ll take them”.

“NO!” I squeak,“I saw them first”.

Ladybehindcounter speaks up ” have you donated? No? then on your bike, Sonny Jim”  

So you see, if you do good deeds , you will be rewarded…………..

img_20170202_084849img_20170204_124217

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Bonus Friday post – Instant karma’s gonna get you

  1. gabriele says:

    Also a reminder to support local charity shops. Besides the good karma, who knows what shopper may find something we don’t want but which means a great deal to that person. Sharing the wealth doesn’t have to mean money….
    So glad this happy ending was so productive! Perhaps an indication that things are going your way for France…one way or another. All good wishes in that direction…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chris says:

    Wow amazing what a find

    Like

  3. Piddlewick says:

    Absoutely! Good karma will win out. Lovely post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bizzyella says:

    Great story! Nothing lost. That guy wouldn’t be your friend anyway….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. francetaste says:

    Wow. Good for you!
    Moral of the story: always take lots of cash when going to donate stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

