The most wanted list – qu’est-ce que l’on veut?

antique old pine wine rackSo, what’s the old stuff we all want these days?

I may not be able to give you the definitive answer to this burning question, but I can reveal the top five UK best sellers that the third quarter of our new furniture rescue business has thrown up.

  1. Old wine racks ( indeed anything in really old pine)
  2. Old oak ( stripped and waxed, not varnished!)
  3. Painted demi-lune console tables
  4. Rustic stools
  5. Small round side tables

I’m a little suprised at the enduring popularity of old stripped pine. I truly thought that had been done to death over the last few decades but no… and we have just sold a rescued and restored wine rack to a proper, posh London wine shop & restaurant. I am thrilled.

The old oak, I love this myself and liberating it from brown varnish is one of my missions in life. I just like to see the wood if the wood is good!

waxed oak antique stool benchOak stools

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The most wanted paint shade? Dark graphite grey. We have mixed up an exclusive grey with a subtle blueish undertone we call “Orage”. Showcased on the painted console below left.

Trevor has also become expert at rescuing coloured inlay

Storm grey and cream carved French console Dpale grey painted inlaid side table

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The most wanted list – qu’est-ce que l’on veut?

  1. francetaste says:

    Pine: ick. Oh well.
    I really wanted to do a kitchen with salvaged cupboards and then make doors out of riddling racks. I saw it in a French deco magazine (I forget which one) and loved it. Maybe one day.
    I am in absolute awe of the magic you work on furniture. I must learn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    I too am surprised at the enduring love affair with stripped pine. Your ‘Orage’ paint shade is fabulous and of course I must say chapeau to you both for this business venture which is really producing some covetable results. Roll on finished or at least finished enough house that I can start placing orders!! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

