Christmas food

img_20161226_201914A little late, but Merry Christmas blog-buddies.

Every year I tweak the family favourites a little. I may have perfected cranberry sauce

9 oz fresh cranberries

3 fl oz orange juice

3 oz dark muscovado sugar

cinnamon stick or half teaspoon dried cinnamon

Sprinkle of sea salt, good grind of black pepper – Don’t faff, chuck it all in a pan and cook, stirring till cranberries beginning to break up, cool and refrigerate.

Easiest lemon tart ever

Use prebaked tart cases, OR, if you are making from defrosted frozen pastry (gluten-free “flaky” in our case) then cut squares, 2-3mm thick, press into greased bun/patty tins.Use a cutter the size of each base to make an impression almost all the way through and prick JUST this base. Don’t worry if it goes all the way through in places, once cooked for 15 minutes at 190 degrees, then chilled, the filling won’t escape. For our tins, a blanquette flute was the perfect size cutter !img_20161226_200814

Fill with one tub mascarpone and same weight in good lemon curd. Whisked together till smooth and fluffy; pile into cooked cooled pastry cases. Mine are rustic, as you can see, I’m no food stylist! I made my own candied lemon peel too…

We had turkey and gammon- glazed with truffle and runny honey, mmm…

Left over flaky pastry was layered with crushed sea salt and chilli flakes to make little savoury nibbles to serve with pre-dinner drinks

img_20161224_183917img_20161224_184816

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Food and wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Christmas food

  1. Osyth says:

    Despite being the size of a barrage balloon after a week of disgraceful overindulgence, I find my mouth watering and wanting to eat ALL these delights. I dub thee Nigella (who I happen to love and admire) of The Aude xx

    Like

  2. Ellen A. says:

    Had to look up what “gammon” was. We don’t use that term in the U.S., but I remember helping my mom score the fat and push cloves into a raw ham. Your truffle glaze sounds fantastic. We had a “honey-baked” ham on Christmas Eve that was delicious, but the best treat was homemade pork tamales at my sister-in-law’s house on Christmas Day. She makes dozens from scratch, cooking down the chiles and pork and making her own masa, then steaming them to cook them. A labor of love, and so delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynda says:

    It all looks so delicious! Putting pepper into cranberry sauce is a really different notion to me, but then my grandfather used to put pepper on his watermelon and I thought it was delicious. Who in your family is Gluten Free and where do I get my hands on GF flaky pastry? Going on a search for that right now!

    Hoping you have a wonderful 2017, Gill!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I bought it in UK, from Sainsbury’s; so no use to you, probably!
      Trevor is the coeliac, makes baking a bit of an adventure as gluten content affects rise factor, elasticity etc, so I have to attempt to duplicate all this minus gluten .
      Let’s hope you and I have a better year coming up!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lynda says:

        I think if this is going to happen I will have to make my own… I found a recipe for the method and she links to her own GF flour mix. All of the items are, or should be easy to find here or there, but lordy will it take a bunch of effort!!! As for the new year; Yes please! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Nadia says:

    Looks all so delicious. Did you manage to fing gammon here in France? That is the one thing I have not managed to get my hands on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

