Living a double life. Or, me and room service (again)

img_20160601_130032So, a few weeks ago it was warm enough to sit outside in Limoux, in the autumn sushine sipping cold rosé  wine and  eating cod poached in  Blanquette and finished with crème fraîche. Followed by a  coffee/toffee ice cream in a chocolate/caramel shell.

Yes, those combos worked well.img_20160725_125643

Zoom forward a few days and I am stuck in a UK hotel hundreds of miles drive from my home base in UK  for four days with the day job. It’s a zillion  degrees colder here.This hotel is more acceptable than some I’ve booked blind. Stained glass windows, cotton & linen bedding, French prints on the walls, acceptable curtains, solid wood furniture, view of boats, even an illuminated magnifying mirror so the Mad Old Bag can put her slap on with a degree of symmetry. I’m a foot from the fire, mainlining tea and extra shot lattes to keep warm

img_20160725_123248

The point is, I’m torn in two with these wildly separate French and UK lives I am obliged to lead. Just move to France , you say. Now.

And how, pray? The one pays for the other.

img_20161123_093823img_20161122_180918

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Food and wine, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Living a double life. Or, me and room service (again)

  1. Osyth says:

    You know my thoughts – I have shared them with you privately. There are never easy answers when money is the root driver by which I don’t mean you are chasing pots of gold but simply that I fully recognise that you can’t just stop what you are doing that is funding the dream in France. You have certainly made solid steps to working out what you can do as an alternative and you certainly are willing to pare down your lifestyle to live more frugally in France but you still need a core income. I think the answer for you, anxious you, is to try not to look too far ahead but to just do what you are doing and let the rest unravel naturally and it will. My biggest headaches have been caused by trying to second guess. When I look back, I realise that I achieved nothing. What was going to be was going to be and although it might loosely resemble my vision it had evolved into what actually works rather than what I thought would work. Finally, at least you had stained glass, decent china and linen and nice prints on the wall. I, on the other hand, to avoid driving too far in one go and staying at a Holiday Inn Express tomorrow night before taking the Tunnel to Calais. This can in no way be perceived as part of my dream ….. Much love and keep your chin uplifted my dear xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I suppose robbing a bank is out of the question. Although, if you think about it, a daring raid followed by a chaotic evasion from the police using bicycles, water skis, hang-gliders (do they still exist?), and public transport while cached under clever disguises and voices might work. Eventually you’d get caught but encounter a decent judge who gives you a two year sentence. You’re out in 15 months on good behaviour. While in prison you write a book based on your adventure and then retire to a comfortable life in France on the proceeds.

    The fact that the timings above align with current Brexit estimates is purely coincidence.

    Just a thought… while the tortoise wins in the fable sometimes it’s better to be the hare.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynda says:

    “…I am still here in UK because I haven’t got a secure financial safety net to decamp to France.”
    Name your place, fill in your dream and I think we all find ourselves feeling similarly about that financial safety net.

    I’m rooting for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. zipfslaw1 says:

    Excellent question, and my personal approach to answering it has been to focus on your answer: the one pays for the other.

    Like

  5. Ellen A. says:

    Maybe it’s like quitting smoking…changing a life habit. Less England, more France… one just has to gradually get used to not having money in the bank anymore! I do hope we can live more frugally in France, but that probably means reserving those yummy restaurants for more special occasions.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. francetaste says:

    Transitions are tough. It’ll work out.

    Like

  7. Nadia says:

    You have the best of both worlds.

    Like

    • Doesn’t feel that way right now Nadia. I really do feel torn in two.

      Like

      • zipfslaw1 says:

        Nadia, you seem to be assuming that there is something good about being in the UK. Has that been demonstrated to be the case, or is it thus far an untested assumption? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I struggle to see anything good about being in the UK. Apart from the fact that my family are there; I could walk away tomorrow without a backward glance.
        Let me make this crystal, I am still here in UK because I haven’t got a secure financial safety net to decamp to France.That’s it.

        Like

      • Nadia says:

        It is never easy leaving ones country of origin. I guess that I have moved so much that it doesn’t matter anymore. I just make my home wherever I am.
        You will know what is right and when, it will just feel right. Good luck.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I absolutely don’t have any doubts about leaving UK, its purely about setting up enough to live on when we get to France full time!! I know that money isn’t the issue for most expats but it is for us & I’m not ashamed to say so.

        Like

Leave a Reply

