More Friday French Property P**n- How to hang

2c91494cd099d3102b2a9925bfba7cb0I have around 100 pictures, paintings, prints & mirrors to hang at the French village house. Not all are huge, though some are almost wall-filling…..

So I think about how to group and where to hang these a lot.

To me, getting all that art up in the right spot is as critical as decorating  and furnishing these spaces. Really. Some excellent ideas here-

 

There won’t be acres of wall with only one modest picture anywhere. My head is a gallery. Always has been. Always will be.

Sources- See my Pinterest for above-the rest -links below6761e2ae505f1ec0f47e28c4fd52374d

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/nadia-gellers-downtown-design-studio-workspace-tour-193991#gallery/44685/9

http://www.bellevivir.com/2011/04/spectacularly-parisian-flat.html

Stumbling Upon ….

 

29bb2759fcac717a7eb2d314869540c53f4a12d4db8338bc3fb20762e0baf840

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to More Friday French Property P**n- How to hang

  1. Hi coteetcampagne! you’re right about having the best place to decorate all your pictures, frames etc. well, just make it clean and proportion that way your decoration will look the best. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Once my friend’s mom paid me to put up a gallery wall for her. She gave me a bunch of random things. I asked for one more because I couldn’t get an even number to work right, and then I did it very much like an engineer and plotted coordinates for every nail, got it up, and the whole grouping was 1 foot off where I meant to put it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bizzyella says:

    Oh. I want whoever did these walls to do mine, too. Especially that last one, with the diagonally opposed portraits. I am finally unpacking and all I can think is uh oh, where am I going to put all this stuff? I can’t wait to see an FPP post featuring your walls!

    Like

  4. francetaste says:

    I especially like the one with the fireplace.
    We had a gallery wall for a while (we ended up putting in a staircase, which meant no more big wall space). One thing to keep in mind, especially here in the south, is whether the sun will shine directly on your gallery. Many things ended up faded. You don’t see it at first, and then when you notice, it’s too late.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Osyth says:

    It is an art in itself – the hanging game. One of my favourite restaurants in all of London was always Odins (Peter Langans older sister restaurant to the also lovely but always too starry for me Langans Brasserie) …. the walls are absolutely COVERED in paintings and at first it looks entirely chaotic and then you realise that each has been carefully placed …. the effect is of a voluptuous garret in a fictional evocation of Montmartre. I don’t know if it even still exists but it was that rare place where the surroundings were equal to the food to the surrounds. I have total confidence that you will achieve something equally pleasing and interesting and delightful to the magpie eye of your visitors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • All my walls have been finished with pictures and mirrors in mind, each one will have it’s perfect place. Even in the kitchen!
      I spend as much time arranging this stuff in my head as I do thinking about plumbing and electrical layouts. Poor Trev, if he sees a picture hook, he knows what’s coming..

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Haha …. he’d love the advert for hammerless hooks here then – M C Hammer comes headfirst down the chimney and starts berating a woman for putting nails in her mantlepiece … ‘you can’t touch that!’ It took me ages to work out who the bloke was even though I love the song back in the day!

        Like

      • Are those any good? some of my stuff is HEAVy. I am hanging some on cords as in 18thc and on copper chains..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Who knows …. I haven’t tried them. I’m a traditionalist when it comes to such things and having just used the US version of Copydex to patch The Brains’ jeans and found the patch at the bottom of the washing machine I don’t have much faith to be frank!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Trev does not sew, but is complaining that there is a hole in the pocket of his favourite cargo trousers. Currently, he won’t wear them for that reason!
        My logical suggestion to ” put your money in the other pocket , then” falls on deaf ears.
        Lordy, who else has to put up with this? I’m going to glue the damn pocket shut; that’ll teach him

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        copydex … it works a treat 😉

        Like

      • Haha! serve him bleeding right….

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

