Episode 148- In which we can see the wood for the trees

img_20161018_180113Just in case my recent posts have suggested that we are galloping toward the finishing line, here is hard proof that we are not.

This is the workshop ceiling. The big beam left to right used to hold up half the house and the two floors above it.

Really, it doesn’t do that job any more. The original bearers that sit on this tree trunk and held up the salon floor have had newer joists run alongside them to do the necessary support work. With both ends embedded in the stone walls they now do what any modern suspended floor support does without requiring half a tree  also.

The woodworm, by the way, was treated the minute we bought the hovel.

I shan’t cover or paint this. It is my house’s bones in plain sight for all to  wonder at ( i.e to wonder “Mon Dieu, why did they buy this place? will it collapse over our heads?) 

Note in photo 1 the ironic essential French house restoration props; hard hats and WD40.

This space has been cleared because I threw a hissy fit after Trevor moaned that he couldn’t access anything in there. Half the stuff below left is going to the dump.  Trev can now see his workbench for the first time in years below right (he has been improvising with saw horses in the cave) I can see the underneath of my Spanish Ceramic Sink. And I can see that this workshop WILL be a decent size.img_20161018_180047Result.

img_20161018_175708img_20161018_180008

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Episode 148- In which we can see the wood for the trees

  1. Lynda says:

    I can’t tell you how many items I have tossed or given away only to need them in short order. It is uncanny. And in one instance simply sad… I kick myself every time I think about it, but I was clueless regarding it’s future value to me as a quilter.

    Like

    • It’s a tough one unless you have unlimited storage space; but my philosophy these days is ” we are never going to live in a big house with lots of outbuildings again, so I will keep only what is exactly right for my spaces or that which has the bones to be exactly right.”
      If something is just so beautiful I can sit and admire it endlessly, i.e. if it gives me pleasure, or if Trevor absolutely loves it, then it gets houseroom now

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lynda says:

        I could/am learning much from you. I have a lot of junk to shift. Right now (because of the move that never was) there is a mini mountain of it sitting in the middle of the front room. I read a book once about how to lighten up you load of unnecessary stuff and it said to keep moving it to the nearest door out. I have done this, but now have to actually push it out the door. Sigh, this is the hardest part.

        Like

      • It is, but what you don’t want/need can now be turned into cash !

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lynda says:

        Way to make me smile, Gill! 🙂

        Like

  2. zipfslaw1 says:

    Des solives ! 🙂

    Like

  3. Osyth says:

    I’m so glad you are keeping those beams bare as a reminder of the real bones of your house. Good bones. Bones that will support your dream and allow the house to stand proud for generations to come. Your dream may not be complete but the strides you have made towards achieving it are astonishing 👏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  4. poshbirdy says:

    Surely you can stash anything you might need at mine for a while? Don’t be throwing out anything good

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, I won’t be throwing out anything good, just rotten wood , sixties sapele doors, nasty mustard coloured glass, broken Formica, dodgy suspended ceiling tiles……. We are at a stage now when we can be pretty sure what we will be using.
      Thanks for offer though, and isn’t it amazing how these empty spaces fill up !?

      Like

  5. francetaste says:

    Good luck. It’s true that there’s nothing worse than throwing stuff out only to find out later that you need it and have to buy new.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nadia says:

    Gosh, there was a lot of stuff in there. I am one of those people who keeps nothing and throws everything away. Maybe it is due to my numerous moves around the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ellen A. says:

    You will use mind control to continue to will it all into submission!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

