An enigmatic Spanish lady

img_20161018_105102Is she Spanish? I can’t say for certain, but that’s my feeling.

Painted in gouache in a frame that suggests it’s original because it is of the same vintage as her dress. Properly made gilt frame with the red underpainting which should always be applied to make the gold glow.

Yes the velvet and passementerie on display  appeal to me, the old textile fan (of course !) But I like to weave stories around her enigmatic expression and her history.

Trevor & I did speculate that we could pass her off as an ancestor, maybe my Welsh great, great, grandmother?  She has my mother’s colouring, the pale skinned, dark haired Celtic type . What do you think?

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to An enigmatic Spanish lady

  1. Lynda says:

    Now that is a keeper!

    Like

  2. MELewis says:

    Can’t believe you scooped something so lovely at a charity shop. Would have bought it just for the frame!

    Like

    • I did, because I thought the picture was a very dirty print,then I cleaned it up and thought………….. mmmmm?!

      Mel, The French house is furnished with stuff from charity shops, junk sales, vide-greniers and ebay. Some folk just don’t realise what they’ve got & I have always had the “eye”

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Chris says:

    A gorgeous painting, Spanish with Welsh I think!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I thought her Spanish perhaps with that dress & that hair; then when we talked about her being a Welsh ancestress and I realised she had my mother’s colouring ( who also had French ancestry)
      Like me, a mixed heritage.

      Like

  4. bizzyella says:

    She’s definitely a kindred spirit. I’d claim her. Why not?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ellen A. says:

    Delightful! I wonder if her corseted waist really was that narrow, or if the painter decided to flatter her a bit in hopes of more generous compensation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sure the artist flattered, and pandered to the perception of perfection and beauty
      prevalent at the time. If you study her anatomically she is rather oddly proportioned.
      The face seems true though, that subtlety of expression could not be faked.

      Like

  6. francetaste says:

    She is exquisite! Where did she come from?

    Like

  7. Nadia says:

    You would most certainly not be the first to do so😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

