I’m not saying my partner is displaying a degree of ocd, but…..

Its weird. Trev is happy to exist in the necessary chaos around us in France but I am reaching the end of my patience with this project now.

I want clean. I want to go look for something in it’s proper place and find it. I am tired of dust and obstacle courses to access the cave.

I have been relaxed about all this for a decade, but some switch has been flipped  this week.wp-image-105035696jpg.jpg

Back to Trev, who has always been the one displaying ocd tendencies; maybe they’ve just been diluted by project endless slog. Anyway, after I had a hissy fit about the mess and wanting the kitchen done he put up this shelf , which was in the house when we came, over the oak former sideboard which is my first piece of clean storage ever in the kitchen.

wp-image-14047389jpg.jpg

Then he put up the utensil rack. Copying exactly the layout in the box. Then he said he was keeping the box to show my daughter where to put stuff when she tidies up, because once she’s emptied the dishwasher we can never find anything. Then I realised he was joking.

Or maybe not, this is how he lines up the chilli sauce on his toasted cheese.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m not saying my partner is displaying a degree of ocd, but…..

  1. Chris says:

    You made my day it is pouring with rain outside so I needed a cheery moment, thank you. I also have OCD always cleaning which is murder when we are renovating!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry “come over” aarrggh this damn phone

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nadia says:

    Those blobs of chili sauce are quite something!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Osyth says:

    I’m proud for Trev – that chilli sauce placement is epic!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Do you have an attic filled with the original boxes for every electronic device you’ve ever owned? And what becomes of the plastic films that come on them when they’re new?

    Like

  6. francetaste says:

    It looks great! Just before getting your post, I read this: http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/6-secrets-of-small-perfectly-organized-apartments-237069

    Having the right place for your stuff is so important!

    Like

Leave a Reply

