Walls, cranes, Walter Crane……back on the paper trail

fe6d2cb402393e91e860ea16912b1727I found this image -left-on pinterest, but I’ve lost the link . I’m sure it was posted by a James in Scotland; I racked my brain for ages trying to think what it reminded me of. Then I got it. Walter Crane’s wall panel & paper designs.

Generally know for his children’s book illustrations and Arts & Crafts association, he was also a prolific designer of ceramics, prints, textiles ,stained glass and plaster “bas-relief”  panels.

s-l400I found this vintage print –right – at the Antiqua Print Gallery http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Antiqua-Print-Gallery?_trksid=p2047675.l2563

Depending on your skills you could use something similar as inspiration for a whole wall, or room? Blow up the design and trace it?  Make a stencil of one portion and repeat?

My own intentions to use wall paper, panels & murals at the French house have  waxed and waned, but they WILL feature in the bedrooms. Very French. Though I won’t be wallpapering the ceilings…..but you can….

All those below from this great source I found on ebay. Some beautiful stuff and not crazily priced. http://stores.ebay.co.uk/decorsupplies?_trksid=p2047675.l2563

Shall we start with”Fabled Crane” as a homage to W.C.?crane

ancient-architectures-l1600

 

 

 

 

 

 

And yes, I am of the opinion that you can mount framed art on papered walls

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Walls, cranes, Walter Crane……back on the paper trail

  1. My mom had the walls and ceiling papered with a floral/twining vines pattern in a small half bath. I think it works in a small space like that. It doesn’t hurt that the walls are tiled halfway up. I considered using a busy patterned wallpaper in my vestibule, too, although I decided on dark paint instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. francetaste says:

    These are very beautiful. I think it’s hard to have art and wallpaper. Not impossible, but hard.
    My mother was very into both stencilling walls and papering ceilings. I haven’t been a fan of the examples I’ve seen of papered ceilings (including hers). Mostly the ceilings are low, and the paper makes them feel even lower.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The French seem to love papering everything, walls, doors (?) ceilings. Or rather they did, it’s dropped out of fashion a bit.
      I think if the tones are subtle and neutral , like the two bird papers on the post, carefully chosen art looks great; as do decorative empty frames or beautiful mirrors

      Liked by 1 person

      • francetaste says:

        Yes, it depends on the design, the size of the design and the colors. I don’t like art with toile de Jouy, for example. Too busy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I concur. And I recently saw a house papered everywhere in classic dark red & off white toile by an American designer which was way over the top.
        I do think a single feature wall in a soft coloured subtle toile works well and can take some art- there are some really beautiful toiles out there now in gentle colourways .
        I think the height of your ceiling is critical too

        Like

  3. Osyth says:

    Very brief response – I love these pieces, of course. I’ve been away in Vermont these last few days but promise to make more sense next week

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bizzyella says:

    Aren’t there less-expensive sources for Scalamandre? Maybe not every pattern, but some. I like wallpaper but the only time I used it, the room was so small that there was no space for pictures: bookshelves and furniture, windows, a closet, a door and hey presto, you could hardly see the wallpaper anyway. I think it might be okay to hang a picture if the wallpaper is not too assertive, if it doesn’t clash with the paper, etc. In short, that sort of thing is probably beyond my ability to pull it off. I’m looking forward to seeing how you handle it.

    Like

  5. Ellen A. says:

    Very appealing. My dream bedroom would have at least one wall covered in a Scalamandre print. They have so many classic but unusual wallpapers and fabrics. Très cher, hélas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • True. Which is why I am checking out options for a more modest outlay. This is still the bargain basement blog!
      One more advantage to small rooms I find is that one requires less to cover……

      Like

Leave a Reply

