Rescue remedies

img_20160911_134245Well, live giveth and life taketh away.

This week I had two ebay buys; the first was so far from it’s listing description as to be bordering on  criminal misrepresentation. For £3.20, I decided to rise above it.

Number two. I picked this up on Friday and although it was clearly once a beautiful thing, I doubted whether even I could bring it back from the brink. Still, you know me, always up for the challenges that would make most sensible folk run off screaming.

We started with this- below – from the photos it might have been inlay (which is almost always retrievable) or hand painting (which is not) so I took  a punt.

img_20160910_161009img_20160910_160935

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A little Arts & Crafts Moorish table; a lovely shape and, once cleaned, a fabulous colour with traces of the red underpainting, black lacquer and ochrey motifs lined with fine brushes.

Though I restored the legs to life, the top was stripped of most of it’s  colour & design and  dessicated and water damaged. A careful clean brought back about half of the original decorative painting. I stopped there for fear of losing what was left. I waxed and polished it and it’s so beautiful-after-

img_20160911_135157img_20160911_132350

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have a house full of the delicate, the damaged, the time-worn, the old, the evocative.

It will fit right in.

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rescue remedies

  1. Osyth says:

    You see THIS is your calling! I love your description of a house full of the damaged and decayed and unloved – like a Samaritan for cast-out relics. And this piece …. Brought back to dignified if worn elegance, it epitomises your skill as the restorer of life to things made with care, and love and hope. Beautiful 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  2. poshbirdy says:

    That’s a lovely table. All the better for being kept original

    Like

  3. francetaste says:

    You work magic. Hats off!

    Like

  4. Ellen A. says:

    Oh, well done again! A very unique piece.
    I had to chuckle a bit when I read: “We have a house full of the delicate, the damaged, the time-worn, the old, the evocative.” – Because my next thought was, “So do we… And then there’s the furniture as well!”

    Liked by 2 people

  5. gabriele says:

    I think your choice to keep and restore (as much as possible) was a good one. I’ve seen similar designs and always loved them.
    I have run into a few (thankfully only a few) ebay sellers who wander so far from truth and then when confronted take refuge in “I didn’t say I was an expert on fabrics, that’s what I was told” (it was cheap muslin, not bemberg rayon) and not worth disputing on ebay so I just commented
    she didn’t know fabrics at ALL. And silently sent her cat piles on her doorstep and dog piles where she walked (I wish…). Enjoy the ‘new’ table, I’m sure it’s glad to have a new caring home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

