The Thursday Three- Frontons

img_20160904_145900These fine “frontons” or pediments are found embellishing swanky doorways in many formal French interiors and grander houses from the early 18th century onward.

 

Embraced by a number of style revivals and generally made of carved wood or cast plaster  they look great used for their intended purpose in the right space.

As we don’t have a single imposing doorway or a grand or swanky room anywhere at the French village house, and  also because we don’t have any rooms where the doorways are even close to matching heights, I cannot persuade either myself or the house that we can use these for their original purpose. img_20160904_145105

As these three old pediments seem to have been previously painted using a yard brush and whitewash they are going to have to be knocked back anyway.

I have an idea where to use them. Trevor, unusually, has an even more radical idea. Watch this space…..

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Thursday Three- Frontons

  1. poshbirdy says:

    I love the word ‘fronton’ – it sounds vaguely naughty somehow! I bought a job lot of rather ‘weathered’ pediments lately, but I am hoping to turn them into pelmets etc so looking forward to seeing your usages too x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nadia says:

    Can’t wait to see what you are going to do this these.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. francetaste says:

    I know what you mean about the right space. BUT I saw a magazine spread of an apartment in I think Barcelona that went from banal modern box to elegant Hausmanian splendor thanks to installation of moldings, frontons and other details (parquet floors). So part of me thinks, if that’s your desire, why not! We get the best house available in our budget at the time of our search. I would have taken smaller but grander, but there wasn’t such a thing for sale at that moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would love to do that, but the house really could not take it so I will leave those beautiful classic interiors to those who have the right bones and the ceiling height for it.

      We have good high ceilings on the second floor, but only because they are open up to the roof . Rooms just not the right shape Chez Nous.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. MELewis says:

    Well I just learned a new French word! They are beautiful. How about as bookends or doorstops?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ellen A. says:

    A mystery! We watch and wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. If it’s not too sacrilegious and their made of wood you could screw some small hooks into the base and mount it on the wall as a key holder.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Osyth says:

    Intrigued? Most certainly I am!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. gabriele says:

    If these are wide enough for a doorway then they’re too wide for what I’ve seen which is attached to the top of a square mirror frame. Since I’ve only seen old, poor condition ones, the join seam was very visible but I think they originally didn’t show the joint. I have a small (18″ x 24″ w x l) mirror I cleaned up and painted to match colors in my bathroom. I use it to reflect the natural light from the windows. I’ve seen similar done with the mirrors on dressers where the mirrors are attached to posts on either side but can pivot (hope that makes sense). I remember them from turn-of-the-last-century catalogs.
    I’m really curious what Trevor has in mind.
    The ones you have are lovely and how wonderful they’re in such great condition.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bizzyella says:

    This is a pretty weird idea but what if you put the frontons at the same height, regardless of the height of the doors? Depending on the situation, the doors, etc., it could be weird but cool or a total nonstarter. I’d leave some kind of gap at all three doors. I don’t know. Maybe with all the stuff going on at my house I’m getting a little punchy but maybe it would be interesting.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

