The Thursday Three – Broderie & Brexit

IMG_20160901_095512I have spent another week editing our lives on every level. The pile of boxes, books, pictures and mirrors in our UK garage has been rigorously sorted and tidied and the stuff destined for France edited down to what I really, really want to take over there.

As picture framing is more expensive in France I decided it would make sense to get most of the pieces that are either unframed or unsympathetically framed sorted out here & now. The 19thc embroidery top left featured on an earlier post in it’s original shiny black frame which did it no favours at all- see right

Late 19thC embroidery on linen

Late 19thC embroidery on linen

Repainted in matte cream paint it looks totally different, softer & lighter & the character of the fine silk chain stitch on old linen is shown off to best advantage.

Then Serendipity took me into a local charity shop where I saw the frame below left- unusually, I did not have my list of measurements with me but I instantly knew it was very close to what I needed to frame my very unconventionally rescued 18thc woolwork piece.

woolwork 18thc

 

Readers, it was PERFECT! Look at that fit ! what are the chances of random fate finding that ! The wood frame is lightly gilded but also has a hint of the same faded dirty pink found on the piece itself. So no further work required by me, though I did break what’s left of my nails fitting it.

Then, going through my stack of old frames and backing boards, I found the perfect sized board to mount this embroidery right IMG_20160831_170100

I feel better for all this editing. Refining what we want, putting anything dubious or superfluous on ebay, because this is something I can control.

I can’t control my ongoing angst re Brexit; which has been revived by the knowledge that Mrs May & her Minions are currently thrashing an exit plan out at Chequers.

My gut/instinct/inner voice normally tells me one thing at a time. Currently it is speaking in many voices, all doom-laden.

Help!

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Thursday Three – Broderie & Brexit

  1. Lynda says:

    I have several seat cushions that were removed from some carved rosewood side chairs we inherited from Bob’s side. I love the old wool needlepoint and want to reuse it. It closely resembles your rose and lily embroidery for theme and colors. However, I have hesitated to clean it… dry clean, soak, what? Not sure what I’d feel if I ruined them. 😯

    Like

  2. Ellen A. says:

    Delightful treasures! I find myself drawn more to snippets of old textiles and thinking of using vintage or designer wallpaper on at least one wall of a bedroom now. There is a certain authenticity to these items that tugs at the heart. Fear not Brexit. As awkward as it may be, it is not a war. All will be sorted and good souls rewarded!

    Liked by 1 person

    • True about the textiles; glad to hear that you are using a little wallpaper!

      Re Brexit, I truly don’t know exactly why this is bothering me so much.
      For the country , it just feel very wrong.
      For us, if it is going to cost us more in terms of money or stress it could be the last straw that finally derails our plans. We will just have to wait and see.

      Like

  3. MELewis says:

    Very nice finds. You are right, framing is horrendously expensive in France. In another life I will create a coffee-bookshop-framing shop where people can stop by and work in my little atelier. 😉 P.S. If you’re worried about Brexit, there are lots of groups of people who share info – I belong to a Facebook group called ‘French Focus Friends’ and there is a lot of talk about all things Brexit.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Osyth says:

    Stunning find in the charity shop … true serendipidy! It is so true that a frame maketh all the difference to a piece and yours all look super-spiffing. Brexit? They will do what they will do. May speak with forked tongue and may she reep a bitter harvest. But the world will keep turning and we will all find a way through once we know what the mire is actually made of. Chin up and keep editing – its good for the spirit, say I 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. francetaste says:

    That charity shop find is fantastic!
    I have a large painting done by my mother that’s an unconventional 24×32 inches (61×82.5 cm). It’s on a kind of hard board, so I can’t fudge it, nor would I want to. I haven’t yet looked at what it would cost to frame professionally, but it really needs something like your charity shop frame. I keep hoping I’ll find a mirror that will work–remove mirror and replace with painting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

