Wooden ships on the water…..

shipssevenToday sees the Port of Blyth in beautiful Northumberland (North East corner of England) host the start of the 2016 North Sea Tall Ships Regatta.

Thirty of these beautiful vessels will sail to Gothenburg, Sweden over the bank holiday weekend.

Vessels  from many countries, including Norway, Belgium, Poland, the UK and the Netherlands will attend.

This spectacular race started the year after I was born (1956) . Find out more here

http://www.tallshipsblyth2016.com/

I am frankly envious of those participating . I love, love , love  tall ships; I love wooden ships in general. I did a little sailing in my late teens and early twenties when I lived in Falmouth, Cornwall where my first husband had a small yacht. We had friends in the worldwide sailing community who had these beautiful old boats.

This set me to thinking about adventures in general and how the admittedly very reckless and devil may care spirit of my youth has got watered down somewhat by life, commitments, cash flow etc. Where did Gipsy Gill go?

The adventures are still out there, I just need to get on top of my current voyage of discovery and decide where to next.

Life’s too short not to get out there and just do it. Now.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wooden ships on the water…..

  1. Lynda says:

    We are thinking very like this now that our property has sold. This is a very new direction for Bob, but all very familiar to me. My Grandmother was a gypsy at heart and I have her genes. We’ll see what shakes out after he retires!

    Like

  2. Ellen A. says:

    Sounds like an exciting event. Hope to see it one day. I’m a huge fan of tall ships as well. We took a day sail a couple of years ago on the Lady Washington, a replica ship that featured in Pirates of the Caribbean. Even in the rain, I found it a glorious experience. Some of the others were seasick and sopping wet, so not so keen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. poshbirdy says:

    I think Gipsy Gill is still very much alive and kicking! And ‘Tipsy Trev’ for that matter!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We wish them welcome to Sweden !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

