Friday French Property P**n Fix

Five more lovely rooms

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

top-bottom & left to right

decorbydesign.blogspot.com

http://www.mysweetgite.com/la-maison-verte/ http://sottoilmontevineyards.blogspot.co.uk/2009/01/interior-designer-frederic-mechiche.html    http://www.anindiansummer.in/2014/11/frederic-mechiche.html

decorology.blogspot.co.uk

I have posted photos of Frédéric Méchiche’s medieval village house in Hyères before. The red toile bedroom is in his place. I like the fact that he has different summer and winter textiles in here (see link below)

I am particularly interested in how a famous French designer has approached a restoration similar to ours and his take on French style is simple and refreshing. He has preserved the old and original and added in his own pieces and finishes seamlessly.

Interestingly, he does not hesitate in using an occasional more luxurious piece or grander textiles here and there. A true family home would evolve this way over the years.

I have seen so many overdone places in France; this is a house that truly celebrates what it was and what it now is; to me it is quintessentially French- see more at   http://www.hemis.fr/?idPageWeb=95&afficherVignetteDuSujet=519&nouvelleRecherchePhoto=1

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday French Property P**n Fix

  1. Lynda says:

    I was loving on that white bathroom until I envisioned my husband coming home from his work… or working outside and coming in to clean up. Nope. Nope. No! Not happening. 😦

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    A gorgeous selection as ever but my eye is drawn straight to the pretty ironwork on the portholes in the first picture …. This has me thinking of pinching the idea for our curious ‘Kiss me Quicks’ in Marcolés which I want to preserve but need to be prettied. I thank you Madame 💫💫

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bizzyella says:

    That green wall needs strong sunlight and plenty of summer heat, doesn’t it? It takes me back to the Indian countryside, in a good way. Good photo, very atmospheric.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes , although that house is in South of France it has pieces from that swathe of coastal countries between Morocco and Turkey ; and one or two Indian pieces.
      I have a sprinkle of this stuff going in the hovel and I suspect you do too.
      You might recall that I found a section of a rich celadon jade wall with a thin black border in the French house; it’s too strong as a wall colour there for me, but lovely used with black and white in a large airy and sunny room as FM has done there

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

