Friday French Property P**n Fix

19a unknown, kitchen, dining cabinetMy current obsessions are-

*Kitchen dining storage –Left-http://decordeprovence.blogspot.co.uk/2011/04/spring.html

I love open shelves, I know many don’t . We have them in the UK and they are no more hassle, cleaning wise, than cupboards with doors.

*Small bedrooms- Right- thedecorista.tumblr.com

ee438bd7b790af456d0757049884bc05

I am particularly taken by the fact that the small size of this bedroom has not precluded statement curtains.

f75a619da644e0ac39cd7676e551fc75Left-

roomseventeenstyle.blogs

and Bizzyella, didn’t you stay in the room below?

c0173c09173cb594a076bfa09fc0b666thefrenchinspiredbedroom.com

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday French Property P**n Fix

  1. poshbirdy says:

    I have shutters rather than curtains at home in the UK. I love them. But in France there will be enormous (and enormously expensive) curtains, and muslins. It’s going to take years just to save up and then make them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Statement curtains”. Now that’s a term I like. I have no curtains at all in my house – not because I don’t like them, but because I need 3m long ones that will cost me a mint 😦
    As for the open shelves, I join the “out of sight out of mind” brigade – Any available surface in our place immediately gets invaded by things people need to get off their hands quickly, so I reduce the available surface to a minimum. On top of that, Smelly dog’s hair gets everywhere and so dust the dust from the earthen track outside the house.

    Like

    • Well, you appear to have a variety of offspring coming and going & putting stuff down, whereas my offspring are off cleaning their own homes now. That makes a big difference to the use your kitchen gets.

      Like

  3. Chris says:

    I love the bedroom, wow. We did not have open shelves in England but I wanted to stay in the character of our 1840′ home so shelves in the kitchen was a must and I find it a lot easier to find my pans etc

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. It’s not easy is it, striking the right path between authenticity and practicality?! Incidentally, our buildings first became a house in 1837, so we have similar conundrums here

      Like

  4. Osyth says:

    I’m with you on the open shelves …. It’s a myth that things get dirtier if they are things you use daily. I am OCD so keeping things displayed perfectly is my (irritating if you are my husband) default. Love the bedroom, agree with Bizzy about the ceiling height but have to add that I have never been afraid of statement curtains in any space 😳

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I can’t help having stuff displayed aesthetically! If Trev moves ANYTHING I know.
      He is, however, trained to hang the bath towel properly as has useful elements of OCD himself.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        My husband is a two brained boffin but neither brain is hard-wired to tidy and organised. He is however trying hard and Kearns quickly hence the fact that after 9 months if actually living together perpetually rather than being married on opposite continents, he is still in command of his manhood 😂😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. bizzyella says:

    Yes, I did stay in that pink room. Chateau de la Goujonnerie, if I remember correctly, and a delightful place it is, too. Highly recommended and for what you get, a total bargain. That smaller room above can handle the statement curtains because of the high ceiling. The curtains draw the eye upward, which in that room is a good thing. Me and open shelves in the kitchen, not so good. Unless I have really good ventilation, it’s just not pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mmm, it’s a divisive subject on blog already!
      I agree about high ceilings being important in small rooms, both our second floor bedrooms are smallish but both have lovely high ceilings open to roof

      Like

  6. francetaste says:

    I had open shelves for five years and hated them. My cleaning man (yes) hated them even more. Things got very dusty. This was at a time when I worked 25 hours a day, 8 days a week, so I never cooked (I had a jar of Dijon mustard, from Dijon, and a bottle of champagne, from Champagne, and nothing else in my fridge. Or other cupboards). Just dust. It was intended to be a two-year gig that grew, so I never bothered to change it.
    That last photo is extremely appealing….

    Like

  7. Nadia says:

    I have always worried about dust settling on everything if in an open cupboard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to, but we keep every day stuff like pans & plates out and they get used and washed anyway. To be honest, I wipe down the open shelves regularly but I also used to clean out my cupboads and wipe the doors down too so no more work really.
      PLUS you can see what you’ve got instantly and de junk!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

