In which I do something I’m not sure the house wants, but it’s exactly right

img_20160728_180004.jpg

Yes, I said the house doesn’t want anything as glamorous as a chandelier. They are for grand houses like bizzyella’s and poshbirdy’s, not mine.

But I had this little Italian one I bought ten years ago that sat in the garage in the UK. Then I found a bag of 19thc coloured  crystal glass drops on ebay. So, I thought, I’ll send it to myself at the French house just before we leave for Campagne and we can just try it out over the dining table, after all, in  a very pared down offwhite & grey room a little colour is justified…..?

So, I took it to the post office, trailed by a bemused  Trev.
img_20160727_103536.jpg

It arrives. I get the million pieces out of the box. Trev is now both bemused and sceptical . I start assembling ( AAARRGGHH!!). Trev starts looking at the ceiling mounts and tutting under his breath.
I make it crystal ( haha) clear that it IS going up right now.

He starts drilling the ceiling around the fitting and finds that his forays keep hitting solid steel; ‘course they BL***DY do, the steel joists above the diner ceiling are holding the roof terrace up!!!!

So we fetch the thing that beeps  when it finds metal. He eventually locates two places where he can actually make holes deep enough.

img_20160728_174952.jpg

We discover that the dainty metal rose does not seem big enough for the cable and junction box and he is obliged to jer….jer….jiggle it around a lot to get it safely up.
The temperature is now in the forties and it did not occur to me to put the fan on & Trev is way to hot and bothered to think straight. He starts discarding garments in  a bid to reduce his temperature as he finally completes this ostensibly simple task.

He is now just about as grumpy as he could be; I tell him I now want a hook putting up so I can centre it over the dining table. He groans, rolls his eyes and starts the whole finding a spot with no steels again.

A spot is found but it doesn’t suit me because I want it lined up with the wall decoration (natch!)

It occurs to me that I could video “Now Naked and Very Ratty Man Hanging French Chandelier” and wonder what kind of hits I’d get with that title.img_20160728_165137.jpg

Eventually we complete it.
Here are photos. It look great and pops dramatically against  that dark grey.

“HaHaHa!” I said triumphantly to the house” It DOES work after all!”
Today’s lesson? You can be wrong.
Of course I rarely am….

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France, What we did, how we did it and what we used and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to In which I do something I’m not sure the house wants, but it’s exactly right

  1. poshbirdy says:

    It looks lovely, and I bet it looks wonderful at night. Well worth the effort and nakedness

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellen A. says:

    Looks a charming piece. Elegant but playful. I’d love to see it lit at night now, perhaps over table settings with those striking walls behind it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Osyth says:

    Every girl deserves a frivolous pretty and downright sexy frock …. your dining room now has just that – chapeau again mon amie – you swung that one perfectly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gabriele says:

    “Today’s lesson? You can be wrong.” but it takes an (almost) naked man who’s useful with
    tools to make it work.
    And the end result may be a chandelier but it’s fun, not stately or grand. And all the new colours
    to play with as accents. And it feels like you’ve given the room leave for frivolity….so light-hearted (and yes, beautiful).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. francetaste says:

    As someone I know says, “Right even when I’m wrong.” And so you are.
    Very pretty chandelier!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bizzyella says:

    Chandeliers in my house? Nuh uh, no way. Of course that’s what you said, not so long ago. It does look terrific against the gray.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have abandoned a number of firmly entrenched views/beliefs/design principles since we purchased this hovel of ours. I really am restoring, renovating, fitting out and decorating this French baby in a kind of organic, free form “OK what next?” fashion

      Like

  7. It’s perfect and amazing. Your house loves it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

