Belated Thursday Three, or four

image

Because the sun is shining and because Trev has nearly finished The Never Ending Floor-y and because one of our good French friends has just made a gesture so generous it reduced me to tears…..

Here are three plus one lovely things.
The antique carved ebonized wood Chinese dragons have just been unpacked for the first time since we moved out of our big UK house in 2007.

This was our Dream Home, till we caught the French bug big-time and saw a chance to downsize and declutter our lives; not to mention reducing the amount we need to earn to keep body and soul together.

The dragons are bigger, blacker and even more beautiful than I remembered.
They will be mounted high up each side of the chimney with black iron lanterns in their jaws.

Two new pieces below; my final “suspension’ light choice for kitchen.copper cuivre suspension
The perforated aged, rustic.  copper, slightly Moroccan design should make interesting  patterns when lit.

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Belated Thursday Three, or four

  1. The dragons are wonderful. Where did you find these or have I missed that?:-)

    Like

  2. Nadia says:

    Love the light fitting. Can’t wait to see it installed and working.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Osyth says:

    Kiss the dragons for me … I had a beautiful Chinese pierced wood lantern which weighed almost as much as I do and I found in a skip in Kensington when still wearing ankle socks. It is now in the care of my ex-husband who refused to give it back and I wearily felt my life too short. Tell more about the French friends gesture – I am agog!

    Like

  4. poshbirdy says:

    Oh I love the dragons. I had a table lamp matching those but I haven’t seen it for a long time. It came out of a skip when I was a teenager and I still dream of turning it up again. It was a reddish wood finish, but EXACTLY like them and my friend’s mum had the standard lamp. So pretty

    Liked by 1 person

  5. francetaste says:

    Both items are so interesting. Isn’t it fun how something old becomes new again?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

