French village houses

image

Taking our promenade around Campagne one evening we notice that many of our neighbours are painting their shutters and walls.
There are no colour restrictions imposed here; despite the historical buildings and yes, you can see the church from our terrace!

So, we have all these pretty little colour schemes going on

image

I really need to get my head around painting our house.
It really lowers the charming tone of our street by several style notches. 
I keep changing my mind.

Talking of style, I could not resist taking this photo.
Where else would you find colour coded laundry pegged out?

image

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to French village houses

  1. Osyth says:

    Love that laundry …. note to self – you are not as crazy as you thought you were in making sure the washing line always looks ambient and stylish 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Personally, I like a carefully pegged out line of gorgeous bed
      linen……with a sprinkle of vintage embroidery natch.
      I once spent almost forty minute arranging my laundry on clothes airer outside the house (because the terrace, courtyard and house were full of dust clouds)
      Yes you can do this in a French rural village.
      my neighbour,who had been surreptitiously watching me from behind her drapes came out and said something like ” it’ll be a loss to the street when you take that lot in”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. francetaste says:

    So pretty! Some towns, like Collioure, are very colorful.
    My bet on the laundry, is that they did a load of reds and a load of whites….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

