Me and Room Service (baby)- The Thursday Three

passementerieYou may be familiar with the Jackson C Frank song “Blues run the game“, covered by Counting Crows, Sandy Denny, Nick Drake. Anyway, it was played on the penultimate episode of “Vinyl” a couple of weeks ago and has been my ear-worm ever since.

“Send out for whisky, baby,
Send out for gin,
Me and room service, honey,
Me and room service, babe,
Me and room service……..

Well, we’re living a life of sin”

http://lyrics.wikia.com/wiki/Jackson_C._Frank:Blues_Run_The_Game

I spend too much time overnighting in hotel rooms for the day job, so the whiskey & gin has to wait for the weekend; but what gets me through the long watches of the night when I can’t do any more prep is ebay.

I am addicted I think.

I haven’t bought much recently (NO, CAMERON, I HAVEN’T!) but I needed to pick up some tie top curtains to dress a pair of ciel-de-lits (bed coronas) I picked up to paint and sell on. So I trawled, and along with some bargain drapes I checked out “seller’s other items” These beautiful curtain tie backs.

IMG_20160512_152423Cut glass beads, wired silk covered loops between. I may wear them to go out in.Will bounce light around the French House terrace bedroom so perfectly justifiable.

That’s only two, I know…so may I show you something we’ve just painted?

chalk painted table Moroccan chalk painted table

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Me and Room Service (baby)- The Thursday Three

  1. Lynda says:

    I want the table. I can’t have it, but I want it. Guess I will have to get creative and make something like it for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well the subject matter (apart from the great song reference) is more of a ladies eye thing but thank you ever so for the shout out and the knowledge that big brother is WATCHING your eBay habits….!
    Well done for not going crazy, I have one here in Wantage that I have to keep a daily eye on so that she doesn’t go bonkers with the “BID BUTTON” on eBay….!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Osyth says:

    Glass and beads just do it for me …. now to persuade that husband of mine that we really NEED beads!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve long given up trying to persuade Trev of anything; but I am mindful that I could go too girly if not careful.
      So, it’s only really in the terrace bedroom that I will really indulge my need for boudoir chic.
      All the spaces will be chic, just not too fripperous

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s my new adjective, BTW

        Like

      • Osyth says:

        My youngest daughter moved into a flat with two boys a couple of months ago. She is certainly finding it an education having been brought up by a single mother and three older sisters to have to stay the right side of the girlie line and she is the most tom-boy of all mine!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. poshbirdy says:

    Ah, now my browser has downloaded properly. Very pretty paintwork

    Liked by 1 person

  5. poshbirdy says:

    They’re lovely! Glass really lifts a room, doesn’t it!
    Can’t tell what you’ve painted on?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. francetaste says:

    I hope you’ll show us these fabulous curtain tiebacks in place!
    The details are gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

