Episode 139- The perfect off-white, and it only took eight years to find it

kaolin off-white paintIt took  a long time. OK, I was distracted by other renovation and restoration debates, decisions and doubts, but I ran out of prevarication time and when we marched down to the shops, this new option was on offer, details below .

http://www.mr-bricolage.fr/peinture-acrylique-monocouche-colorissim-satin-2-5-l-kaolin.html

We like 3V3 paints; we painted some of our shutters at the village house in their exterior wood paint, then they discontinued the shade then I didn’t care because I had changed my mind anyway (sometimes even my well informed and artistically inspired colour choices are WRONG).

This shade really does look like china clay.

So, this multi-support paint is very opaque, goes on a treat (says Trev the Super Hero) and can look everything from almost white, through very palest taupe, to a pink toned stone-grey in different lights; which I like  very much.

It is also rated A+ for VOC emissions in France, if that kind of stuff is important to you.

I wanted matte, because it feels more authentic. Trev wanted slight silk sheen. He won in here. He was right. There, I have admitted it.

We are now left with the following angst-inducing decision:-

Do we paint the asyettobefitted skirting boards with this paint or the floor lasure finish?

The asyetunfittedmerelybalancedprecariously trim at the top of the panelling will be painted in the kaolin paint .IMG_20160409_092504

The ceiling was painted with the kaolin, but was very lightly overlaid with a watered down white broken effect sponged on by moi at 6 am in the morning because I could not sleep knowing that kaolin alone was not right for this surface………….

I know, you don’t have to say it

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France, What we did, how we did it and what we used and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Episode 139- The perfect off-white, and it only took eight years to find it

  1. poshbirdy says:

    Personally I’d go for the wall colour on the boards. It will look lovely

    Like

    • Almost certainly. Any consideration re taking the floor lasure onto the boards is influence by the old interior design trick of doing just that to visually widen a room. To be frank, what we are doing has improved the perceived proportions anyway.

      Like

  2. MELewis says:

    I love off-white and there are as many shades of it as there are grey! Our house is ‘blanc de falaise’ (cliff white). And personally I would paint the baseboards with the paint rather than the lasure.

    Like

  3. francetaste says:

    Interesting! I am looking at colors and am overwhelmed. The painter gave me two batches of swatches, each three inches thick. I will ask him about this one. He seems to have favorite brands for different things.

    Like

    • Hi, yes I too got overwhelmed with off-white and grey choices!
      Trev really liked the way this one went on and covered and it’s a lovely, characterful colour.
      We do find 3v3 paint is tough and long-lasting

      Like

Leave a Reply

