Episode 136 – Random late evening musings

image

Yes it’s a bit dark (because it IS a bit dark) but here are the first few floor boards wearing their carefully chosen first finish.
The sheen will soften down when its dry…..

I bought my first French interiors mag for ages today. To be frank it will be the last one; I used to pore over their pages for ideas, but have slowly realised that I have way more ideas than any of these publications anyway and they aren’t saying anything new or fresh to me anymore.

I leafed through  a few of the titles we have here, dating back to when we bought the French house, and it amuses me mightily that four of my favourite titles name-check our village!
I KNOW Campagne means country but I am willing to bet that your French town/ village of choice isn’t featured on a whole load of  interior magazine titles……Ha.

image

I have just pulled the above contents from my work jeans. The nails come courtesy of the kitchen ceiling but the rubber band comes courtesy of the day job.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Episode 136 – Random late evening musings

  1. Osyth says:

    Mine too 😉

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    I’m doing some frantic catching up as you may gather …. What did you treat and finish Le plancher with?

    Like

  3. poshbirdy says:

    Looks smashing and laying them that way really works. But make sure you don’t leave any of those nails in your jeans when they go in the wash!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Chris says:

    I love the new floor. The floor boards in our master bedroom were covered with carpet that we were sure was suck down with superglue!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, and it’s always good to hear that other French house buyers make the kind of weird and inexplicable discoveries that we do!
      Any luck with your search for vintage pieces for the bathroom?

      Like

  5. Nadia says:

    The magazines are fun to look at but I too gave up buying them a while back. As you say, nothing much new pops up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. francetaste says:

    My favorite magazine was Cote Sud, which had great recipes. But I too have quit reading them. No time and they are too into modern decor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

