Episode 134 – Small room, big headache

sept13 tulip room ceilingIt’s a bit of a pain,  the deuxième étage shower room.

It has basically looked like this since we demolished the wall that divided the tulip bedroom in half; one side then a dark box save for the tiny dirty skylight or “fenêtre à tabatière”.

Best to add the “fenêtre” as “tabatière”also means “snuffbox”. I was unaware of this when I spoke to the guy in Bricolage and his eyebrows shot up, so no doubt it is a dubious euphemism for something

What the hell, if I can’t entertain the locals with my faux pas, what’s the point?

ANYWAY, so we demolished the dodgy wall, leaving the very old doorway to the right for access to rejigged shower room  and Trevor built a new stud and wood wall to the right of the window.

Now one of only three things in whole house that are level.

So, why the big gap above the old doorway and the new wall up to the roof joist?sept13 1162

Because I have gained maximum light in the shower room with the two veluxes installed and the tulip room gains massively from this borrowed light, so we need to keep it.

How? well the original idea was glass bricks. The French like them, we see them everywhere in both old and new builds; but, this is me , so why would I settle for something that doesn’t quite look right? Answer- I wouldn’t….so…… I rack my brain for four years. THEN a possibly more sympathetic solution presented itself in a local UK hostelry that originated as a farmhouse in the 16th century, then became a coaching inn.

IMG_20160306_163521It has two of these small paned, high level sections of   very old glass mounted in bevelled wood frames. I think that’s the solution here.

 

 

 

By the way, the cleaning product-above right- is intentionally ironic. Those in the throes of major restoration/renovation will know that you clean, and clean, and clean;then it all just gets dirty and dusty again, and again and again…..

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Episode 134 – Small room, big headache

  1. Lynda says:

    A brilliant plan and I like your reading material too! (first photo)
    BTW, I have been posting a lot and I hope I am not a pest… if so you really don’t have to reply to everything. I am almost caught up from beginning to present and things will naturally slow down. 😉

    Like

  2. It was stressful enough when we renovated our downstairs bathroom – the dust was terrible! It must be so much more complicated to be renovating a whole house abroad – really admire all your efforts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Rosemary: the good wishes and support of my blogging community mean a great deal to me; and thanks for staying with me so long!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re very welcome! Thanks for staying with me as well – this year seems to have flown by and I always seem to be chasing my tail trying to catch up with everything. My blog is an opportunity to have a bit of a “time out” and I really enjoy the blogging community too! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Osyth says:

    The ideal solution …. I love it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. poshbirdy says:

    It’s a perfect solution. Love it

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nadia says:

    That window is a great idea if you can get the right size or otherwise glass bricks are always a good fallback.

    Like

  6. To me that would be called an oversized transom window. And I wholeheartedly support using vintage window sashes (or more likely vintage casements since you’re in France) for it instead of glass block. They can be had pretty cheaply in my neck of the woods, even the ones with interesting mullion patterns. Is that the same for you?

    Like

    • Hi Chad

      It’s for the area on top of the new shower room walls, not for the windows in the front wall. We are having new ones made in the local style for there . We were lucky, all our other windows were in fair shape

      Like

      • yes I get it. A transom is a window above a door, so I think having glass at the top of an interior wall is kind of the same in principle. And I meant that you could use salvaged window parts to make it

        Like

      • Sorry, of course it is- I don’t think I was very clear on this post as some of my messages suggest folk thought I was on about the roof window. You have got it straight away of course.!
        WE’ve looked for old window bits, but can’t find anything even close to sizes we need. It’s a shame, so Trev will have to build them from old wood if possible and fit glass himself- watch this space

        Like

      • If shipping is cost feasible I can check around for you. American sash windows might actually work better shape wise than French casements. I love shopping for that kind of a thing so much. After I got all the doors I needed I was sad that I couldn’t keep at it.

        Like

      • Also, they are moving and everything is 30% off. I’m totally serious about this, I’ll source stuff for you.

        Like

      • Very interested, but what would shipping to France cost?

        Like

      • We need one oblong and one triangular frame to fit the two spaces. No need for them to open as veluxes do that and they will be on internal walls

        Like

  7. bizzyella says:

    Yes, some sort of clerestory window is definitely the way to go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

