Episode 131- In which technological breakdown leads to everything becoming clear(er)

campagne winterNow, I don’t intend to go all philosophical and profound on you; though having said that, you have all been subject to my frustration rants, my angst at unforseeable events I can’t control, and shared a taste of my despair when Trev was days away from death in 2014; so why not ?

It’s been kind of a delayed New Year Resolution week this week.  I have made a few fairly dramatic ones, following a series of EUREKA! moments prompted by a cluster of serendipity laden events.

Let us start with The Monday Meltdown. I have been having grave problems with the provider of my two business emails and websites. These had rumbled on OKish for five years  or so till the nameless company changed some procedures. The net result of their new practices meant that I lost both sites for a period and it came to my attention that a number of bad links were messing up my accessability and searchability. Don’t think I have gone all expert-techie, I have had no choice but take  a crash course in this stuff this week.

Anway, I emailed them over and over, finally saying “sort this or I chop my business with you” , having then found that they tried to take my annual fee twice, stuffing it up and doubling it(?!)

They didn’t sort it and Monday morning they had chopped my domains/email access/website etc.  Initially I could feel the panic rising.

Both email addresses have been given to multiple individuals & organisations since 2011. How would people reach me, how would they find my service? What a birthday gift!

Unusually for me, I did not go into instant meltdown and hissy fit screaming session. I reasoned it out; the people and clients I care about have my phone number and UK address, and almost all of my new day job clients have come to me through recommendation by other clients or fellow professionals in parallel fields; so was losing the main business site all that critical really?

All the apartment bookings have come through third party holiday websites, so, I decided that now is the perfect time to do what I have been mulling over for weeks.i.e. to launch a simpler complementary service to the regular day job that I can do more easily from France and a chance to decide what Trevor will be venturing into to embellish  and support the French rental and other house related projects. DSC00332v

Face it folks, we all managed without the internet, in my case for many, many years, and we still communicated, we still worked, we still survived. We led a different, simpler life, and that was no bad thing.

What do Trev & I REALLY need in our third age?

We already knew, in a kind of half-formed and vague awareness of what’s really important to us. This just crystallises it.

I took the first photo-top left- in misty Campagne in late January. Looking at it later, I sensed that there was something missing but I couldn’t place it right away. Then I compared a similar viewpoint from an Autumn shot.

Spot the difference? Yes! the little mountain ( one of many that ring the village like a necklace) is missing, wreathed in morning mist.

It’s so obvious. And just as obvious is what we need to do now.

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Episode 131- In which technological breakdown leads to everything becoming clear(er)

  1. bizzyella says:

    I await the sequel. I see big changes coming. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    Every cloud. Really, every cloud 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. zipfslaw1 says:

    Sounds like it might all be for the best! Funny how things work out that way sometimes.

    Like

  4. gabriele says:

    There is a guy on the Aude Flyer who provides tech help every issue…he seems to be local, you might talk with him…
    http://www.audeflyer.com has the column, read the latest. I tend to trust someone who offers good advice for free rather than just saying ‘come in and we’ll talk…’
    his site is http://www.brucetaylorpro.com/ another link says he’s near Mirepoix…

    Like

  5. I know I’m far too reliant on having internet access these days but as you say it is possible to manage without it! Hope you work out a solution though these things can be so frustrating. Lovely photos 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Life without the net? Scary to consider we worry about not having it but we do. I do for sure. Life was simpler and modern life is rubbish BUT it is also much nicer with certain aspects such as T’interweb…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

