Taking care of business

IMG_20160121_145954Sooooo… it seems topical,and is something  I have been mulling over for a few years.

Business In France

Yes, it’s complicated,  but people do it.

Yes, it’s possible, but in common with any other step into self-employment or company set up in any country it requires WORK. Stop reading here if that alarms you in any way.

It depends what sort of an income you want/need. You might do well to consider “Micro-enterprise” if your initial expectations are modest; explained here

http://www.french-property.com/guides/france/working-in-france/micro-entrepreneur-business-france/

That’s just a link, I neither support nor endorse it, merely drop it into the ocean.

No good, of course, if you are looking at making a substantial income.

What I do endorse, encourage and emphasise is get yourself a French Accountant

We aren’t looking for riches, just a necessary top up, and Trev has a very viable idea.

He’s bored by the way, three months out of the daily work loop is turning him into a weird version of his dad. I work from my home office in UK, so he is definitely under my feet now.

Much as I love him, if I come downstairs to another episode of Ice Road Truckers, or planes that fell out of the sky for no good reason and don’t constitute entertainment anyway, I may have to kill him.

Oh and here and above are some cracking options for business premises in Le Vrai Sud 

IMG_20160121_140124IMG_20160121_135452

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Taking care of business

  1. Osyth says:

    Good advice re the French Accountant. It’s a necessity of you are going to work. By the way, in France I don’t get taxed as an Author. However techies can lose a huge chunk of self employed income. Don’t kill Trev – I’m sure his idea is a winner and bate my breath in anticipation of the reveal 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I need to check the current rules for artists! However in short term I will continue current “role”.
      As far as Trev goes, he really doesn’t want another computer troubleshooting job, he wants something different; and more creative.
      You have NO idea how bizarre and unexpected a direction this is for him to take.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Creative Trev!! Love it – go Trevor …. it will all fall into place (hopefully before any more planes fall out of the sky on your goggle box) …. I battle with my husband who is entirely two brained – one brain wanting to carry on with what he is doing and the other wanting a vineyard. I ask you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh tell him go for the vineyard! Trev has not got the plant nurturing gene ( see earlier posts) but he would be happy to visit and product-test. Believe me I am nurturing this little creative seed; we have been polar opposites creatively speaking till now, I.e. he leaves all creative/design decisions to me and is not overkeen on galleries,exhibitions or arty stuff but who knows now?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        I’m pushing don’t you worry – in reality it will just be an acre or so that we grow our vines and experiment with our own cépage. We just need to find the right house and I just need to instil in him an understanding that age doesn’t wait. We have limited years and we need to get on with it. Trev may end up more creative than you . You may have created a monster. Have you considered this? That he may become a morphing of Lawrence Llewellyn Bowen, Warhol and Brian Sewell in his dotage …. I’ve scared myself – I need to lie down!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • No, please, not Brian Sewell!!

        Like

  2. Love the wood in the final picture. So amazing.

    Like

  3. poshbirdy says:

    Oh, wouldn’t you just love a premises like one of those!
    Dying to hear more of Trev’s plan. Baz was very keen on the suggestion Trev made last year!!!

    Like

  4. Hi! great link (note that there is a space to much at the end so at first try it is corrupt)

    Thanks

    JP

    Like

Leave a Reply

