Wood I?

wood floorYesterday I spent a considerable amount of time closely studying some beautiful knots and blemishes on a rustic wood dining table in Homesense and talking to myself about it.

In my defence, I thought I was talking to Trevor, but he had wandered off, bored, and was watching me from a distance with a perfectly straight face.

Three members of staff were also watching me & probably wondering where I was on day release from. Maybe the way I was stroking the table top was a bigger worry than the fact that I was apparently talking to it.

The two principal materials in the French house are stone and wood. I was fond of these before. I am now obsessed. I think about how I am going finish our original and added-in wood all the time.

Is this an aspect of restoration- syndrome or do I have a new condition?

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wood I?

  1. Lynda says:

    ‘…he had wandered off, bored, and was watching me from a distance with a perfectly straight face.”

    I really hate it when Bob does that to me. 😐

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those joists look a lot like my kitchen ceiling when it was open. I added Nailers and drywall ed between them to leave room for wiring and whatnot

    Like

    • Those joists are in what will be the workshop so we don’t need to insulate there, but in other rooms we will be either plaster boarding ( drywall) or panelling over insulation and wiring . biggest issue will be tulip bedroom partial double height ceiling; and Trevor HATES heights.

      Like

  3. Osyth says:

    Priceless … what a bugger your Trev is! But in your defence it WAS entirely understandable to need to talk at length about these beauteous creation, I am certain 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. poshbirdy says:

    Haha! I can just picture you doing this while Trev just observes!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nadia says:

    It is only serious if you buy them all:)

    Like

  6. zipfslaw1 says:

    I’m giving my ugly dining room table to Goodwill.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

