The Thursday Three – On mange!

French lunchA little lunch in Carcassonne at Brasserie Le Longchamp on Place Carnot. Recommended.

I noticed that there were a couple of mediocre reviews on Tripadvisor criticising the decor.

This is France for God’ sake!

Actually they have recently redecorated in shades of pale “marmotte” so of course it looks great.

House wine is so decent it’s hardly worth picking up the wine menu. Endive salad with walnuts and creamy blue cheese. Home made pasta is excellent and I recommend the creamy but not heavy wild mushroom/ oyster mushroom(pleurotes) sauce, just glimpsed here.

(Just had a thought.. pleurotes??? peyote??? no wonder it’s my favourite)

I can’t find a website for the actual restaurant ( I repeat, this is France!) but here’s a photo right-Le longchamp

So Trev had duck, on a base of deliciously flavoured lentils. Came with fork, spoon and knife, so obviously A Serious Dish.

Then afterward I went for my default dessert, the Café Gourmand. Why? because you get a little taste of 3-5 desserts of the day and it answers the “OMG it all looks/sounds delicious” quandary. cafe gourmand

 

I got the home made tiramisu (mmmm!) what I thought was a straight chocolate mousse, but was in fact fudgier in texture and laced with sharp salted caramel ( great balance of flavours), and a square of dark chocolate patisserie that I assumed would be really sweet, until I was smacked round the chops with the face pulling sharpness of the bitter orange gel sandwiched in the centre! MMMMMMMMM… thank you Le LongchampIMG_20160121_123940.jpg

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Food and wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Thursday Three – On mange!

  1. zipfslaw1 says:

    I’ve found Yelp reviews pretty accurate in Paris. It helps if you can read both English and French.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zipfslaw1 says:

    Ah–now I finally understand why my friends keep telling me to order the café gourmand! I wasn’t clear on what it is. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nadia says:

    What a delicious looking meal. I too always go for the cafe gourmand. Why not have more than one dessert?
    The no website thing is very French and for someone used to the states where every diner has their own website, can be very frustrating but we are in France so “Vive la France”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Suzy Barker says:

    Sounds absolutely marvellous to me ..

    Like

  5. Gabriele says:

    When people don’t know enough about the food to comment properly they review the decor. TA is useful for addresses but most people I know take the top 10 hypes and the bottom 10 criticisms and pick one review from the middle. To really find fair reviews you need to see what else the reviewers have written…did they praise another resto in the area? Perhaps they’re shilling for the one and dissing the other for the same reason…a minor reward from the hotel/resto/etc. Likewise, if someone pans a resto but they haven’t reviewed anything else in the area–(or country!) then it’s an agenda.
    For someone like yourself with such devotion to authenticity in design and personal taste, faking something would be heresy or worse.
    Rough Guide used to offer an English version of the Guide Routard for hotels and restos. That was my companion for many trips. Then RG stopped putting out a lof the their guides (I loved the RG Languedoc Roussillon and Pyrenees) and that went adieu with them. GR stopped putting out the hotel & resto guide but then started again in 2010 so I bought a copy before the last trip.
    The lunch (and dessert) look wonderful.

    Like

  6. Osyth says:

    I bluddy hate trip advisor (my daughter worked for Holiday Lettings.co.uk in Oxford who were swallowed in one great big gallolop by TA. She hot footed it to Bristol to do her foundation Fashion Design thingy so I should be happy I suppose) The reason I hate them is not them intrinsically but the prerequisite nasty for the sake of nasty reviews. When I am in Carcassonne (which I will be because a) I love it b) Gel and Sal me muckers from London spend a month there twice a year and c) it may end up being the only option to meet up or down with you) I will make it my business to eat at this place AND make a good review on TA (as I do everything I like and nothing I don’t unless they have actively tried to kill me)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

