The Thursday Three – Rondes et Chansons

sur le pont d'AvignonThe classic French song that most of us learned if we had school French lessons.

This is one of my 99p bargains, a disintegrating pile of French prints of traditional songs and rounds. Aren’t they great and won’t they frame up well and enhance my walls at the French village house?

Not strictly x three, I have about a dozen of these, but I thought “Ah! Mon Beau Chateau!” was amusingly ironic; and we do seem to have gone a-“round” in circles on much of this project……………

chansons francaisMaybe Trev can play these on the guitar whilst I sing (out of tune)

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Thursday Three – Rondes et Chansons

  1. Osyth says:

    I remember singing in a circle with my three then tiny elder daughters and their grandparents who lived near Arles on the Pont Saint-Bénézet. Sadly my mother in law died before my youngest could go through this necessary right of passage – I wonder how she’d feel about me suggesting it as an option next time she is with me in France? Love the sheet music – it will, indeed look charming in the house (or should I say beau chateau 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suggest it, see if she reveals the “my mother’s a nutter” face. I get that sometimes.
      To be fair, my son finds my eccentricities and indeed my riotous past v amusing.
      My daughter just takes it all on board without judgement. How I turned out two such exemplary human beings I don’t know.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        My eldest keeps me ringed by a special forcefield and removed if I try to step out of it! I think I might suggest it as a nice family reunion for us all when we are in France together 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I got an old copy (1919) of the Scottish Student Song Book for my Christmas so we could probably do a cats chorus together…!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

