Chilled to the bone

pace gambetta CarcassonneIt has been cold in the Aude, but not nearly as cold as the UK and we had three gloriously sunny days when the sun was warm enough to sit outside and take a coffee.The benches on Carcassonne’s newly finished Place Gambetta give a wonderful view of some of the beautiful buildings in the ” ville basse” often overlooked when people wax lyrical over the medieval cité.

Who would know that under this huge, tranquil square a massive underground car park lies cleverly concealed?

I walk around it with my gaze up and my mouth agape at the architecture, which is not ideal in a city full of  handbag-dogs ( which have to get down sometimes for their calls of duty)

I do hope those are horse chestnut leaves on that balcony..right.IMG_20160121_145419

So we get back to the UK house, it’s freezing. After a week in a toasty  French domicile we can’t get warm. It’s a rented Victorian cottage and leaks heat like a sieve.

Even the bed is freezing, I get in with most of my clothes and socks still on. Trev, who has never favoured sleeping garments, admits defeat and pulls out the pyjamas he was obliged to buy when hospitalised in 2014.

Just be glad this is not a vlog..

 

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Chilled to the bone

  1. Lynda says:

    They are too fat not to be horse chestnut. Lovely ironwork!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth says:

    I’ve just re-read this and seen the offending paragraph about handbag dogs ….. of course The Bean’s guardiens are always equipped with baggies …. I use baby nappy sacks because they provide a tiny disguise enroute to the bin to the worst of her stinks. But do not get me started on the number of dog owners who suddenly become preoccupied with something of huge importance when their precious doggy squats and then walk on nonchalantly leaving a noxious land-mine. I get appoplectic in any language when I witness it. The Bean says her’s don’t smell … she lies 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Responsible Dog Ownership.
      Sadly the city mini – pup owners are the worse in my experience. I’ve always practiced Responsible Dog Ownership, and as soon as we settle I will have a dog to be repsonsible for again!

      Like

  3. Osyth says:

    Could you rent a room to work in somewhere in the village? Just a thought and it would probably be cheap. We have a few that do it in our village. Pyjamas do have a place in life, as do bedsocks or is that a step too far? 😉

    Like

  4. Nadia says:

    It is not age, it is simply that it is time to make the big move to France. Where there is a will there is a way, even for Internet. Keep warm.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. bizzyella says:

    I see that move coming. Not the age move — all this renovation will keep you young! — but the move move. I mean really, you’re renting in England? No point in weatherproofing, then, is there. Can’t wait to see how and when this plays out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is only one big obstacle now.
      STILL NO reliable internet in medieval bit of village where our house is; and I can’t work without it!!
      We could sell up and buy one of those ugly terracotta block villas close to the main road, they are wired for internet there…? three words- horns, of, dilemna- maybe four

      Like

      • bizzyella says:

        Ugh, that is bad. Is there wifi in the rental?

        Like

      • I can & do pick up internet and emails on my phone in France so I can communicate in brief, but I can’t practically use this method for critical large documents!
        This year we will have internet at rental apartment hopefully, even so I cannot chuck paying guests out whilst I work

        Like

      • bizzyella says:

        Depends on what they pay vs. what you earn. Factor in the cost of your England rental, travel, etc. The large document issue probably rules out wifi at cafes, parks and other public places. You are welcome to use my wifi, if you can stand the travel to La Rochelle; bring Trev and stay over. I’m sure you have done this math a zillion times and always come up with returning to England. France can trip you up in crazy ways, can’t it?

        Like

      • Done the Maths, I earn much more than the rental pays, it’s a one bed mainly summer location.If we move wil have to give up UK rental anyway.
        That’s a kind offer but I spend a large chunk of the working week emailing and using the net and that can’t change really

        Liked by 1 person

  6. poshbirdy says:

    Lovely. Didn’t know about the car park in/under the Square. Hope you have adjusted a bit now to the cold. At least it’s better than yesterday

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It must be cold if hardy Trev is resorting to clothed sleeping even if it is a onsie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

