More French interiors , feast after famine

GustavianAfter years of looking for French interiors that would suit our village house I have suddenly dropped on a whole visual feast of photos  to inspire me.

below- a masterclass in picture display

picture display class

 

 

 

beautiful French bedroomlong narrow French dining roomteresamoolman.tumblr.comstairway to French heaven

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, finally, another ancient village house whose mix of rough and crisp works so well.  see here & below for more rooms http://thefrenchprovincialfurniture.com/frederic-mechiehes-provence-home-in-hyeres

AND he has used COLOUR, I am tired of seeing all white rooms. I need my tints and hues and shades. I think my need for colour is partly the artist in me and partly a reaction to a childhood steeped in “Magnolia” my mother’s favourite paint shade….

village house Provence

 

And yes, I have found a way of fixing crumbling painted finishes to keep that wonderful patina but without bits falling off when you lean on it!

Links to all the above on “My Pinterest ” right

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More French interiors , feast after famine

  1. zipfslaw1 says:

    Rough versus refined–I like it. I seem to recall Adam Gopnik saying that what makes Paris what it is is the juxtaposition of the personal and the monumental–maybe rough versus refined is another version of that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. poshbirdy says:

    Lovely images. I am picturing your kitchen/dining room, but all of these are gorgeous. I have pasted a couple for my use on powerpoint (pinterest virgin)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Osyth says:

    Ooooooooooh! these are utterly divine. I need to understand Pinterest …. I have it and no idea what to do with it! As for colour …. bring it on in bawdy buckets but I must say that my childhood was one of fucshia ceilings above sage walls, old gold walls with peacock alcoves and orange-gold curtains brushing ancient oak floor-boards so I have no magnolia excuse for my exhuberance. I’d like to blame it on my inner artist but I don’t think I have one so I just have to say it’s my madness unexplained. I love yours!

    Liked by 1 person

    • if I can grasp Pinterest, then anyone can.
      I think France is the one place where you can get away with this rough/refined juxtaposition. Maybe that’s why we like it so?
      Glad to hear you will be indulging in little colour yourself

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        You have a very good point and I like that description – rough vs refined is pretty much the way of it. I will attempt to master pinterest just for my own use …. I’m sure I can make use of this idea of making pinboards if I can only work out how to do it! In your case it must be a very good way to get the message across that you are actually someone who can educate on the subject of interiors and renovation. I do believe this 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks
        You are very encouraging.
        Maybe there’s mileage in something I’m doing here?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Definitely. did you ever get my overview email sent last year …. I gave you some very broad brush-stroke ideas of how to get to your goal. It would be good to have a face to face at some point which is much easier than email (I tend to have a bird brain and forget what I set out to say so conversation is easier) but I can’t see a window in the next period – I’ll be in France for a short while at the end of March/start of April and then back here on and off til Autumn when we will likely be in Grenoble for 6 months. A gypsy life for me. Curses.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I did get it, but sadly I have slept since then! (HEAD’S A SHED)
        Let me know when you are next in UK and we will have that coffee.
        With or without advice it would be good to meet, I suspect we may have a thing or two in common…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Doubtless (things in common and beyond what one writes about methinks) ….I may be in the UK in Spring – I shall need to check my mother’s pulse for instance – and will keep you well posted (keen on that pun) xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • I sincerely hope your mother will never read this!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. So lovely and charming!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

