Papier peint, fond d’écran, wallpaper

antique French wallpaperWallpaper- not something I thought I would ever use in any house of mine.

France is even changing my decorative sensibilities.

This genuinely vintage French paper is a typically recognisable piece from the 19thc. I even have shred or two of something very similar in the dining room at the village house.

Found at – https://www.pinterest.com/pjms1953/wall-coverings/

I will preserve the last remnants ( I have a plan ) but I won’t be papering both the bedroom walls and the ceilings (very French) or the doors (very, very French!)

I also love the designs based on early “indiennes” . Whilst some of these have paisley motifs and stylised flowers, my favourites are the bird and bough images that reference hand painted chinoiserie papers and particularly 18thc painted scenes.You can get beautiful hand made Chinese papers from companies such as Chinese-wallpaper.com

chinese wallpapersee- thishandcraftedlife.wordpress.com or you might find an antique panel at places like The Decorator’s Secret.

Clearly the roots of all these designs are the Tree of Life motifs that appear in many ancient cultures across the world.

The Decorator's Secret

 

 

 

These are the feature wallpapers for two of my bedrooms, both from wallpaperdirect uk-below-

I think I may be in a minority; I haven’t yet seen a genuine or repro vintage paper used by any of my fellow expats down here in the South of France

shoppingparadise bird

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France, What we did, how we did it and what we used and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Papier peint, fond d’écran, wallpaper

  1. Lynda says:

    I like your second offering (teal and coral on my computer screen) but wouldn’t put it to a wall. Instead I would make it a triptych to hang or put it on a standing screen. So lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely designs on these wallpapers. You even tempted me into considering one for a moment…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well they are very French
      My neighbour has an amazing, and now very aged, toile de Jouy in her salon and it is so evocative of it’s period. I didn’t see it till AFTER I decided to use a little wallpaper in the bedrooms, and it’s reinforced my choice

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nadia says:

    Happy New Year.
    Those are very beautiful wallpapers. You will have a tough choice. Very French indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like these kind of dilemnas though!
      Because the project has taken years, due to the limited time we get there and the fact we want to be hands on, plus the crazily low budget- I have changed my mind a few times about how it should look.

      Like

  4. Chris says:

    Happy New Year, I love the wallpaper

    Like

  5. bizzyella says:

    What a beautiful blog This Handcrafted Life is. I hope she posts more often — or that I landed on July 2014 and just missed a lot. The wallpaper thing is a hoot, isn’t it? Every time I walk into my house it starts chattering away about wallpaper, French wallpaper, none of that William Morris stuff. So far my response has been no, you’re costing me too much as it is. I can tell the wallpaper will happen, though, if only in the downstairs WC. It’s just a matter of time.

    Like

  6. Osyth says:

    I actually love wallpaper – we recently viewed a house with the most incredible seventies wallpapers in some of the bedrooms which I would absolutely preserve if possible so I’m with you and against your ex-pat friends in choosing wallpapers and boy have you got a couple of beauties there! Happy New Year to you and Trev …. I wish you a fabulous night of celebration and the best of years to come 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knew you would be a wallpaper fan. Its so French. So many renovated & restored properties have the exact same archetypical decor inside. I’m not criticising other folk’s design choices but its good to be a bit braver.
      I hope our house will “feel” French as well as satisfy my inner artist.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        You need not hope, I KNOW it will …. it will be a triumph – this is clear to those standing on the outside looking in. Of course your inner Artist must equal some sense of insecurity at a level … artists are always the least confident.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You are spot on as always.
        I think part of my problem, if there is one, is that this project is so modest in scale that people (a) wonder why it is taking forever and (b) wonder why we picked such an ugly hovel!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        It doesn’t look at all ugly to me and getting it right takes time. If others want to splish splosh and bosh that is their affair – give me a perfectionist any day 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • WEll now the exterior shower room pipework and the old electricity feeds draped like grotty necklaces have gone the outside is a little improved

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        But that’s the whole point – you had the vision to see beyond the miserable, cast out the ugly duckling and reveal her inner swan. And it will be, is really already, a triumph 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Happy New Year to you and your man, and I hope you find your “other” house too.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. MELewis says:

    The French are certainly masters of ‘le papier peint’ and these are some lovely examples of vintage wall coverings. Très beau!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

