Signs and portents

french sundialSo, there’s nothing like a highly pertinent quote to stop you in your tracks.

I photographed this painted sundial on the side of a house whilst waiting for the bus to Carcassonne.

There are some good photos of French sundials, or cadrans solaires, right here- and we have been thinking of painting one on our village house (post new render) over front door as is traditional over there.

http://www.richesses-en-somme.com/cadrans-solaires/cadrans-solaires-de-s%C3%A9rie/

Today, for no particular reason, I decided to translate what I correctly guessed was an Occitan quote. “Las que passoun tournoun pas mai”

It means “Those (hours) that pass will not come back”

Chilling.

As I translated, I shivered, every hair stood on end, and a portentious light bulb flashed.

OK, now I am officially stitched up; the feeling that I had better stop procrastinating and push forward this move to France is  getting overwhelming.

I have been experiencing Signs and Portents for days  and we all know what Signs & Portents lead to ( see second blog post  in archives- June 2010).

I have spent years retraining myself to believe that our fates rest entirely in our own hands.

I am going have to back-track on that………………..

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Signs and portents

  1. Or even “dealing”

    Like

  2. Osyth says:

    Interesting. You see for me that is the most positive of messages …. communication is all in how we receive it not in how it is give out. But bluddy well get your bum into gear and get on with making that dream your reality. You know you want to!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So very very true.
    Look to the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

