The Thursday Three- and why do I put myself through this?

Mad as a hatterSo, this week a series of incidents have reminded me that I skate close to the border of being a nutcase. Not least, the Renovation Stress-Witch control freakery.

Trev has time on his hands, he suggests going over to France to lay new floors. Logical, I dissuade him, why?

Because in the French house,  I want everything done just  as I want it to be. Now, don’t get me wrong, he has been on the biggest journey ever since we bought the hovel. His capacity to visualise and work toward the final product has expanded immeasurably.

This project has brought out a creative side in him that I barely knew existed.

But it’s still a case of his brilliant ideas having to fit into my grand plan. As he said last Sunday, in  a resigned and slightly weary voice “Just tell me what you want me to do, and I’ll do it”.  mad hatters tea partyWe had afternoon tea at the “Mad Hatter’s” tea shop in Smethwick , Birmingham (recommended) Right- grandson sandwiched between mum and auntie. This place is full of loopy and surreal set-pieces inspired by Alice in Wonderland, including chairs with motifs from my favourite Tenniel line drawings.http://www.alice-in-wonderland.net/resources/pictures/alices-adventures-in-wonderland/

Three for Thursday below, A set of lovely rusty imperial weights, an unusually bevelled Victorian hand mirror which is going on the wall, and a highly appropriate hanging sign

Some might think that the creativity, imagination, and flights of fancy that give my life meaning are insanity.”
Vladimir Nabokov

I rest my case……….

DSC03178DSC03177

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Art, design and inspiration blog, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Thursday Three- and why do I put myself through this?

  1. Osyth says:

    Edgar Allen Poe had it right – ‘I became insane with long periods of horrible sanity’ … pretty much the default here 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MELewis says:

    Mad as a hatter, indeed. Read this on Wednesday morning, in a time-challenged pre-Christmas stress mindset, and had to check what day it was. Oh, well….maybe sanity is overrated? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

