The Thursday Three – Chinese Demi-lune lacquered table

Chinese lacquer chinoiserie tableToday, in deference to repeated hints by Ms Poshbirdy I am finally posting this lovely table.

From my favourite internet auction site, this was a “collect only” job, but everytime I win a special piece like this , my day job mysteriously sends me off in that direction. Serendipity? Fate? Je ne sais…

It was not exactly down the road from my Cardiff commitment but at least I was in South Wales and an almost two hour trip into the wilds of Pembrokeshire, down one car wide unlit dark lanes was just another adventure.

So I picked this up from a beautiful and grand Georgian house with amazing floors and contents- well at least the bits I could see from the hall. The vendor helped me wrestle it into my small car and it was worth it.lacquered chinoiserie table

These pieces have been made in similar style & imported for centuries, but the shape of the legs and the particular colours of the handpainted decoration under the lacquer suggested it’s age. Confirmed as late 1930’s there is some damage to the finish on one leg which we are confident we can remedy.

As a quality detail, the drawer is lined in padded velvet the colour of teal feathers.

The other two items, picture and washstand set have been featured on previous posts

https://coteetcampagne.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/the-thursday-three-les-trois-pour-jeudi/

https://coteetcampagne.wordpress.com/2014/09/26/the-day-after-thursday-three/

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Antique and Vintage finds, Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Thursday Three – Chinese Demi-lune lacquered table

  1. Osyth says:

    Lusting! I mean, seriously lusting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. poshbirdy says:

    Oh I love it!! If you ever need to store it….!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

