More musings on colours and designs for the French house

French coloursLook at these colours- found on Pinterest, link below

http://georgiannalane.com/

Similar to the colours that I am using in the salon. The doors are a little bright for me but I do like softer turquoises.

Note the painted lines punctuating the room at dado and picture rail height.

I have already blogged about painted skirtings and the tradition of picking out other details in paint rather than wood trim. see posts :-

https://coteetcampagne.wordpress.com/2015/04/06/episode-108-at-last-some-clues-to-support-my-ideas-on-paint-effects-and-the-answer-to-a-vexatious-question/

Evidence of painted detail exists in several of our rooms at the French village house, and we are recreating similar detail where we have the appropriate room height-in the salon,the terrace bedroom and both staircases.

It’s somehow less grand than equivalent trims and mouldings, and as you know, I worked out a while back that this house has no pretensions to be grand.

I have noted that, unlike the picture above, our house reveals only one painted trim per room. I will humour it, I have so far…………..& I’m quite sure we are doing the right thing.painted skirtings

http://inspiracionline.blogspot.co.uk/2010/09/renovated-french-village-house.html

About coteetcampagne

Artist, period home maker, renovator, restorer, Francophile. My mission is to save the old stuff, one beautiful piece at a time
This entry was posted in Renovation and restoration diary- France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More musings on colours and designs for the French house

  1. Osyth says:

    Turquoise in all its hues is my absolute favourite colour but oddly I have never used it in decorating. I’m so glad that you are still erring away from the grandiose but rather opting for a contemporary take on authenticity 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • My favourite also, in all it’s hues.
      There’s a certain amount of “discussion” going on regarding the less contemporary elements.
      Let’s just say that Trev has not acquiesced entirely on the “authentic” elements

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth says:

        Haha! Two Brains got a tongue lashing just this morning on one of his less appealing ideas for Maison Carree (and since he is idling in Hawaii on so called business and I am at the sharp end with M Bonnet the painter I win whether he likes it or not!!!

        Like

  2. Colours are so important and it can take an age to get them right. Even if it is a colour you may love, it might not be right for the piece you want to paint. I DO NOT envy you having to go through this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

